PDA

View Full Version : XSI - character animation workflow?


Julez4001
08-12-2004, 04:38 AM
Can anyone with years of experience of XSI give me an impression what the apps character animation pipeline is like? Do you enjoy animating? Is it a chore to use or wrestle with. Is the fps at least 15-80 sec?
Can you swap low poly for hgh with morph targets (blendshapes) still intact.
Can you update the rig after you started animating?

RayenD
08-12-2004, 11:31 AM
Can anyone with years of experience of XSI give me an impression what the apps character animation pipeline is like? Do you enjoy animating? Is it a chore to use or wrestle with. Is the fps at least 15-80 sec?

Well, I did a lot of character aniamtion projects in both Softimage 3D and XSI, also in other apps and XSI so far is the easiest to work with. It may lack a bit in other areas (only a little bit) but character animation workflow in XSI is imo the best. You don't think about program, you think about animation in XSI.

You can have so called syntoptic views which is fully customizable graphical interface for your character, so as animator you don't even have to see standard XSI interface if a TD set it ups for you.
Marking sets for easy and no redundant keyframing.

After working for a while with animation mixer (esp. on long term projects with a lot of recycling of animation), you will probably refuse to work in any other app ;).

FPS - depends on your scene. Low res models run realtime or almost realtime on good system. Swapping lo-res -> hires is no problem, referencing works flawlessy (unlike in some other apps). You can have LOD, offload models, use three different res versions of model with referencing, so there are tools to keep your FPS at good level.

Can you swap low poly for high with morph targets (blendshapes) still intact.

Yes. Also, XSI subd implementation makes it possible to have low-res poly cage in the scene but render it in super-high subd (by checking one checkbox). You can also switch it on the fly in the scene with one line of script or by pressing + button. There is no conversion between polys and subds, they are treated identically, it works on the fly (of course enevlopes, UVs and all other stuff transfers from lo to hi as well).

Can you update the rig after you started animating
Yes. You can even remodel your model, add edges, delete polys, add another arm or leg or head etc. and envelope will still be there, updated.

Good thing is that all of this is rather easy to setup, no need for heavy scripting, so even if you are not TD you will be able to do it yourself if needed.

CGTalk Moderation
01-18-2006, 11:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.