PDA

View Full Version : XSI Foundation ... Few Questions Please ...

Paul Moran
08-10-2004, 01:06 AM
Hi All,

With the new price of Foundation and the inclusion of the 5 DVD training set Im seriously considering picking up XSI as another tool in the kit bag ... Im currently proficient with Maya ...

I just have a few questions as to the make up of Foundation (Im totally new to XSI Jargon ...so please excuse if some questions are a bit stupid ;) ):

Also ...if there are any work arounds or alternative methods to reach the outlined effect/feature Im all ears http://www.xsibase.com/forum/YaBBImages/smiley.gif

- What exactly is Polygon Reduction ?

- What exactly is Smooth / Relax ? ...and is there the ability to just subdivide or convert to SubD to acieve similar smoothing ?

- What is the texture layer editor as Foundation misses that option

- Advanced Rigs, Guides and Motion Deform ... what am i missing here ? Can i still rig advanced character setups myself ?

- No rigid body dynaimics ...this is a real killer http://www.xsibase.com/forum/YaBBImages/cry.gif ...are there other options for creating/using RBD in XSI ? ... why would they give you soft but not rigid ??

- Any disadvantages to not have a stand alone MR.exe ?

- No Batch Processing ...surely this doesnt mean that one cannot batch render an animatin from XSI ?

- Custom Display Host ...what does this mean ?

- Creation and Editing of Referenced Models* ...just like Maya referencing for charcter sets etc ?

- Creation and Editing of Scripted Operators ... is this NO scripting...or just reduced scripting ?

THANKS A LOT!!! for all your help here guys...appreciate it heaps!

Cheers

Paul

ThE_JacO
08-10-2004, 01:28 AM
- What exactly is Polygon Reduction ?
pretty nifty tool to reduce a polygon count interactively (preserves edges, textures, concave/convex/spikey surfaces) and so on.
all in all the best polyreduction on the market by far, but it's most useful as a game tool or to reduce scans.