PDA

View Full Version : Chain Mail

studiomiguel
02-02-2002, 10:31 AM
Hey guys,
any suggestions for modeling chain-mail like found on medieval armour? Tutorials would be great......
??
Miguel

Rabid pitbull
02-02-2002, 07:11 PM
That does sound like a pretty tough idea, but I too would like to know the pro method.

Chewey.... you must have a hint for us beginers.:)

I think the simplest way is using maps, but probably not too realistic.

studiomiguel
02-02-2002, 10:01 PM
Yeah, I've pursued both methods.
Maps: easy, fast, animatible......closeups don't look so hot.
Geometry: Looks Great! I mean wow.. the detail factor is super..... don't know how to begin to animate it (I suppose I could bone it, but I'm not very good with bones) and the geometry is tremendously complex, the simplest sheet i came up with was 8500 polys (subd'd) for the covering for one thigh.

The high poly boned method may be the best way to go... I just want some other imput from you guys.......

Here is the character I need the mail for:

http://www.community3d.com/galleries/images/gallery-568.jpg

As you can see he is wearing it down each thigh.

Mike RB
02-02-2002, 10:44 PM
ok, heres how you animate anything complex like this:

make the complex super mesh. chain mail, spiraly phone cord... whatever. Then make a simple version version that fits into the same space with decent but not insane mesh resolution. For the phone cord it would be a cylender that is the same diameter with quite a few segments, but no modeled spiralys.