PDA

View Full Version : overriding lens shaders


morgn
08-04-2004, 11:23 AM
hi,
is it possible to override a lens shader? i cant seem to find the shader in explorer view to turn it off in a pass..
cheers,
morgn.

ThE_JacO
08-04-2004, 11:47 AM
no, because it's a camera shader and cameras can't be included into partitions.

but there's a trick for that.
-connect a mix2 colors to the lens shader input.
-connect 2 lensshaders to the 2 different inputs (one can be a lens effects with nothing active if you want the plain camera)
-create a dummy object in the scene with a custom parameters set
-make that set drive the weight of the mixer

now you can override in partitions the parameters on the CPsets.
bob's now officially your uncle.

morgn
08-04-2004, 11:52 AM
now thats sly.

EdHarriss
08-04-2004, 03:04 PM
Yes it is.
Great tip Jaco!!!

ThE_JacO
08-04-2004, 03:32 PM
and now that you read it Ed I can feel safe that it will be forever documented and remembered for generations to come, even if I was to die tomorrow.

we should write a 1001 tips for XSI book mate ;)

jamination
08-04-2004, 04:33 PM
>make that set drive the weight of the mixer

this thread caught my interest so i tried to work through your method. i did everything but got stuck here. i tried to drag the custom slider into the mix 2 color weight but it won't take, also tried a link with.

any advice.

thanks
phil harbath
jamination

ThE_JacO
08-04-2004, 05:44 PM
in the explorer expand the color parameter and you'll find 3 divots for RGB, link the same parameter to all 3 if you want straight out balance or link them separately if you want color independant mixing.

CGTalk Moderation
01-18-2006, 09:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.