PDA

View Full Version : Photorealism: Two Candles

Velk
08-03-2004, 10:06 PM
This is my first attempt at photorealism. The modeling, textureing and rendering took 4-5 hours. The image was created using 3ds Max 4.3 and Photoshop for slight adjustments in DOF post render (default scanline).

I would like comments on both the realism of the scene (lighting models etc...) as well as the textures used. Thanks in advance,

cg219
08-04-2004, 12:51 AM
THe candle and candle wicks looks pretty Photoreal, not completely, but a little. The candle holders look fake to me though. It could be the lighting. But thats all I see wrong with them.

hpslashluvr
08-04-2004, 01:05 AM
i think the candle could benefit from being just slightly more translucent, like just barely

i think the view isn't a good one tho, maybe see more of the top

Velk
08-04-2004, 02:37 AM
Yeah, the wick on the candle really needs to be a tad more, I don't know, waxyish. There isn't enough light coming through it or something.

CG219 what looks fake about them? is it the reflections or the shape or what?

Here is the top view as well, I didn't change the lighting scheme at all.

MattH
08-04-2004, 08:37 AM
The shadows look too crisp and uniform to me. Think about what kind of environment you want these candles to be placed in and go find some reference for the lighting and shadows.

pha3z
08-04-2004, 11:34 PM
ooo Focused Critiques for Velk!! :)

really good work for a first attempt! :) but here are my thoughts on why it doesn't look photo-realistic: