PDA

View Full Version : programs for what movies

Arsyn
07-28-2004, 05:37 AM
Hey guys?? I've been modeling for a few months now, and am just starting to get into looking at what the industry is doing. I'm using rhino and am looking at upgrading to Maya or 3ds. To help in my decision, I would like to know what programs have been used to make all of these Blockbuster movies. Any of your personal thoughts on which program to use would be great also.

Thank You

o Darkone o
07-28-2004, 06:51 AM
Well that would depend . Some movie comp. create there own programs , this is most regarded for water making ,splashes and movement . But movie comp. dont use such progs. offten . But some indeed use Lightwave , since 3Dsmax is now not used in movies. Also some use Maya . Many progs that they use are are half modeling progs and half digital editing progs . so you can quicly set up anything from models to effect on a recorded scene and that compile it . But that kaid of software is not for sale .
If your after this job to make effects/models for movies , i recommend you start with Lightwave .:thumbsup:

Arsyn
07-29-2004, 03:39 AM
Studios don't use 3ds max anymore.........................Why not?? So for you, Lightwave is better than Maya? Do you know what programs were used to make shrek, spiderman, and nemo?? If you know of any other movies you could add with the programs they were used with, that would be great too. I'm just trying to get a feel for what's being used before I move on from Rhino.

Thanks for the reply

o Darkone o
07-29-2004, 12:01 PM
Nah , personaly i use 3Dsmax , its the prog for me :)

vigoro
07-29-2004, 01:26 PM