PDA

View Full Version : simulating studio lighting

frog
07-29-2002, 06:06 PM
Hiya,

I'm interested in creating replica studio lighting setups to illustrate virtual products, in this case it's a perfume bottle. This is my first attempt, using FinalRender GI in Max.

The setup I've mimicked is a softbox (a flash with a large diffuser) as the main light source over the subject and a large reflector to the right of it. The idea is to soften the shadows and distribute light over the subject. I've placed it all on a curved background just like the ones used in actual product photography. Realism isn't really my primary aim, but rather more subtly I'm aiming to produce idealised images which would make things look more attractive than actual photos, but in such a way so that the casual observer would not think that it isn't a photo.

Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated, especially regarding the lighting and how it matches real world situations and/or shows off the product.

One thing I'm definitely not interested in is adding any grime or noise or film grain as it would distract from the idealised vision I'm going for!!

http://www.btinternet.com/%7Efrog01/bottle.jpg

Cheers. :)

sirius
07-30-2002, 01:45 AM
hi,

the softbox and reflector screen reflected like that would exactly be the kind of artefact reflection a good product photographer would avoid. you should have added the tripod and the Hasselblad/4x5 Sinar too. ;)
Reflection screens, light boxes etc are used to enhance the form and atmosfere of a product. If instead of that obvious softbox there would be the illusion of a window, and some nice gradations, the reflection of a real space giving some atmosfere, or better placed sharp reflections which paint that bottle in a graphical way..........
have a good look at the photography you are refering to...
this looks still like a cheapo packshot of the 100 in 1 hour type.