PDA

View Full Version : FXWars! Catapult! (Trebuchet) : ChaosCommand

ChaosCommand
07-15-2004, 02:59 PM
***WARNING***
I'm a newbie

Anyways... This is my first real attempt at making anything in Maya. I have yet to produce anything good in 3d art, but, this contest seems fun. I have always had interest in stuff like this.

Anyways, I just spent a few minutes trying to come up with something simple.
It is hard, because when I move one part, I have to move others to keep the wheels straight. I need to look into groups and all that stuff so it can make this process less painful.

I have already seen some absolutely amazing stuff posted in other threads, so I know I won't be able to compete with them, but, here is my first render:

http://www.chaoswebcreations.com/Projects/Graphics/3D_Maya/Trebuchet/Trebuchet_01.jpg

Amazing eh???

lol, it isn't really much to look at so far.

I need to figure out how the wheels will work, how to connect them to the base itself, and how to make the arm of the trebuchet. I know a tiny bit about dynamics in maya, one day I just had fun creating things to break, so hopefully I can remember that stuff.

I'll post more when I make more later.

ChaosCommand
07-15-2004, 03:21 PM
http://www.chaoswebcreations.com/Projects/Graphics/3D_Maya/Trebuchet/Trebuchet_02.jpg

Alright... I think it is starting to look a little better. I think it looks pretty big and bulky, but I believe they are like that anyways. I might have to redo the part where the base connects to the arm, it looks pretty strange and a bit big.

Also... it looks too blocky. I don't know how I would make it look a bit more smooth, but it just seems too basic. I might redo the whole thing anyways, maybe even a few times before I get it right.

I'm definately going to have to check out some plans on how to make the arm. I'm also going to have to search for some materials to put on my terbuchet, because grey is boring :P