PDA

View Full Version : FXWars! Catapult! (Trebuchet) : Westiemad

westiemad
07-14-2004, 06:59 PM
This is the small humble area when my work will hopefully take place, although this cloth and hair trigger simulation does have me a bit jumpy.

westiemad
07-14-2004, 07:06 PM
Mental notepad. (brain storming may not make sense to any readers)

Things to condiser during the simulation process.

Resolution of objects, naming, constraints, extensive testing on simple models to prove concepts.

Model, mostly done in its simple form, not that i'm a master modeler by any ways or means.

Textures, planar projections.

Dynamics, fields, hair or weighted CVs, possible dust, and maybe fluid effects (cause they look nice).

Main things to look into, unhitching of the rope, could be tricky. Cloth holding sack, either cloth, or softbody with a wrap deformer and some low res version for collision detection.

Software: maya 6

westiemad
07-14-2004, 07:20 PM
Note, sort out the crappy facets on render, they are new since i broke mental ray playing with it last night. I know its not a good render before you tut aswell.http://www.members.lycos.co.uk/westiemad/model1.jpg

westiemad
07-14-2004, 11:39 PM
ok, originality is not my strong point. Its a classic boring one.

To do - rig up arm so it swings

- sort out ropes (make guides IF ANYONE CAN TELL ME HOW TO MAKE GOOD ROPE ROUND A SQUARE BEAM I'D BE PLEASED)

- simulate rope

- come up with some funky ideas

- finish the actual model before doing any of the above.

http://www.members.lycos.co.uk/westiemad/model2.jpg

westiemad
07-15-2004, 01:53 PM
ok i did a quick test to try and get the motion of the main arm right, so feedback on this would be nice. Next simulate ropes and pullies. I haven't played with dynamics in years.

To think of, way of winding down arm and attaching hook, (for look only).

http://members.lycos.co.uk/westiemad/blast1.avi (1.12mb playblast)

ChaosCommand
07-15-2004, 02:22 PM
that is freaking unbelievable.