PDA

View Full Version : Panoramic, QTVR, and HDRI


spaze
07-14-2004, 05:15 PM
Hi,

It may be out of the focus of this forum but i wanted to share some of this with you.
It is about QTVR, panoramic and HDRI.

I've been using theses tecknique since a while. I use it to create simple photo panoramic, QTVR and also to create my own HRDIs :)

Hope you will like theses :)
There also some QTVR on my site that i can't put on this post directly : http://www.spaze.org/2d/pano/panos.htm


Maybe CGTALK could open an dedicated Topic for this kind of work ?

http://www.spaze.org/2d/photos/evenements/siestes/Jardin_02.jpg


http://www.spaze.org/2d/photos/archi/entree_saint_sernin.jpg

http://www.spaze.org/2d/photos/evenements/siestes/Jardin_07.jpg

Youth
07-14-2004, 05:49 PM
Hi!

How have you done the first picture? Is it HDRI or LDRI? If it is HDR image please write how you made it.

Thanks!

spaze
07-14-2004, 06:23 PM
Hi!

How have you done the first picture? Is it HDRI or LDRI? If it is HDR image please write how you made it.

Thanks!
Of course i made it :)

It is low HDRi for this one but i could i've make it HDRi !

It is just an PS CS transformation of an sherical image like the last one !

Youth
07-14-2004, 07:37 PM
It is low HDRi for this one but i could i've make it HDRi !
How did you do the HDR image? If i have a digital camera how i can make one? I can only make a panorama with Stithcer, but i must do ~40 images and then stitch them... But it will be LDRI :(
What is your optics like?

It is just an PS CS transformation of an sherical image like the last one !
What type of transformation? Please tell me :)

Thanks!

spaze
07-14-2004, 07:44 PM
Use an spherical image (2:1 ratio)

Create an new image in PS that is rectangular (the size of the Spherical one).
COpy it in a new layer and position it on the top of this new image.
Reverse it (vertical mirror). In the filter, use the deform (i've an french version of PS) and choose the polar coordinate. select rectnagular to polar.

That is it :)

Another example !


http://www.spaze.org/2d/photos/spheres/terrasse.jpg

Youth
07-14-2004, 07:50 PM
Yeah!! Cool! I haven't known this function http://cgtalk.com/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif

But how you make HDRI? Please tell me! I wanna make one...

spaze
07-14-2004, 08:01 PM
Yeah!! Cool! I haven't known this function http://cgtalk.com/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif

But how you make HDRI? Please tell me! I wanna make one...
Sorry i forgot this part :)

It is pretty simple. Shoot all your images at least 3 times (bracketing).
Separate theses in 3 differents folders (under - norm - over).
Batch rename them exactly the same.
Use stitcher to create a spherical image for the norm exposure.
Copy the .rsz file in the others folder (under and over) edit them with a text editor (wordpad).
Change only the path.
Render them directly.

Now you have 3 spherical images that you can use with HDRShop for example.
Of course you can use the same technique with even 10 different exposure but it is more work.

I use an D70 + an 10.5 Fisheye so i use only 10 shoots per spheres !

Good luck

Youth
07-14-2004, 08:06 PM
Thanks a lot!!! http://cgtalk.com/images/smilies/love.gif
And keep it up!!! http://cgtalk.com/images/smilies/thumbsup.gif
Bye!!

maxou
07-15-2004, 09:14 AM
this is awsome!! the first pic bursts me.
but i really didn't understand a word you said about the making of.. :(
i'm completely lost.
nice work anyway

beebee
07-17-2004, 01:15 AM
Very nice work!
just a question... Can I do the same on a mac? What software i have to use? please tell me.

berniebernie
07-17-2004, 11:54 AM
If I remember correctly there are a few apps that turn normal images into hdri images.. google for it..

spaze
07-20-2004, 01:13 PM
Very nice work!
just a question... Can I do the same on a mac? What software i have to use? please tell me.
For sure you can do this with a MAC. PS, Realviz Stitcher, Nikon Capture .... exist for Mac :)
The problem will come from the material you use. For this i've an Nikon D70 + 3 optics (10.5 fisheye, 18/70 and an 70/300 Apro Macro). But the most inportant is the Head for your tripod !
You need a focal centerer (like KAIDAN or MANFROTTO).

Good luck

AndyWhiteley
08-01-2004, 03:14 PM
maxou - I didn't quite understand the explanation either.
Basically you stretch the image so it is square. Then in Photoshop use 'Flip Canvas Vertical' and use Filter>Distort>Polar Coordinates, Rectangular to Polar.
Works best if you have an image with lots of sky or a block of colour at the top of the initial image.

spaze - I am using the Nikon D70 with the 10.5mm lens.
When creating panoramic images to be imported into Stitcher, do you correct the fish-eye lens distortion first in Nikon Capture 4 Editor?

Spritemare
08-02-2004, 03:29 AM
Panorama Factory is a great little program that will help you get the same effect.

AndyWhiteley
08-02-2004, 12:36 PM
Agreed.
Panorama Factory is one of the best and easiest photo stitching programs I have used.
Here's the website. Includes a free trial download.
http://www.panoramafactory.com/

spaze
08-09-2004, 08:03 AM
maxou - I didn't quite understand the explanation either.
Basically you stretch the image so it is square. Then in Photoshop use 'Flip Canvas Vertical' and use Filter>Distort>Polar Coordinates, Rectangular to Polar.
Works best if you have an image with lots of sky or a block of colour at the top of the initial image.

spaze - I am using the Nikon D70 with the 10.5mm lens.
When creating panoramic images to be imported into Stitcher, do you correct the fish-eye lens distortion first in Nikon Capture 4 Editor?


Sorry to respond so lately ! I was in vacation :)

Yes i do defish my 10.5 shoots with Nikon capture. I you use an focal centerer it works perfectly :)

TheFish
08-09-2004, 10:12 AM
Lol, it's very fun .

Tonik
08-09-2004, 10:28 AM
Very nice shots. I like the first one - it looks like you've created your own mini-planet. It must take lot of work to get those HDRI images done. 30 shots per image and a lot of stitching.

A lot of people seem to use that same kitchen HDRI so it's great to see someone putting the effort in and building their own. Have you used them in a 3d environment yet ?

CGTalk Moderation
01-18-2006, 06:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.