PDA

View Full Version : Any tutorials on building demolition/implosion?

Pixarman
07-09-2004, 04:09 AM
I have searched high and low for any useful tips or tutorials on how one would go about bringing a building down. It's for a viz project. I did a quick test and it looked pretty horrible.

I'm using Maya 6, if that helps any. I used some quick particles and just rescaled the buliding until it was flat. The client really liked it, but fortunately they aren't too hard to impress. I just wanted to make something a little better, not super detailed, but a bit better than a 20 min squash job..

I'm new to the particle system also...

Pixarman

LoTekK
07-10-2004, 06:25 PM
I'm no expert on building demolition, but here's an idea that would still use squashing, but may get better results. Instead of doing a straight squash on the entire mesh, segment the building into the appropriate number of floors, then squash each floor from the bottom up in sequence, mimicking the way buildings generally collapse in demolitions work. Maybe a slight noise modifier on the entire building as well, so as to make it a little less "clean"?

gaggle
07-10-2004, 10:32 PM
You messed with Maya's "Shatter"? You can break objects into fragments.. sounds pretty appropriate for an implosion. I'm not suggesting you just take the whole building and do a simple shatter, I doubt that'd look very impressive, but you can take the roof for example, or some large sections of some walls, and shatter them so the pieces can be animated to tumble to the ground individually.