PDA

View Full Version : Vortex boy

John Keates
07-06-2004, 11:30 PM
Hello there people,

This is the first proper commision that I have taken for a while. I am a painter at hart but I was asked to do the cover for a play. The watch and die are made in Animation Master, the rest is PS with my beloved wacom. Any crits welcome, I won't cry if you are harsh - I like the rough treatment:)

http://gackland.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/Stars%20small.jpg

Like I say, anything that will help me improve would be good.

Ps (yes it is suppost to be B&W)

3DArtZ
07-07-2004, 02:29 PM
Hey John, hows it going? Like the image! I would suggest turning the watch and die to look a little more extreme. Now they just look like they were placed in the scene, oppossed to getting flushed down the cosmic space drain!
Overall, I think its very good
Mike Fitz
www.3dartz.com (http://www.3dartz.com)

Bugle
07-07-2004, 04:08 PM
Looks good - I think there's something wrong with the character's neck, or head placement, but that could be a stylistic choice on your part. Judging from your avatar you like your characters to be a mix of creepy and cute :)

John Keates
07-07-2004, 07:36 PM
Hi there fellas :)

Hi 3D Artz,

"I would suggest turning the watch and die to look a little more extreme"

Yes, I was thinking of doing things with the AM rendered stuff to make it look less still. I was going to make the hands of the clock spin fast by blurring them but I kind of forgot. Thanks for reminding me abou this :)

Bugle,

"I think there's something wrong with the character's neck, or head placement"

Yep, I spent a lllonnnnng time moving that damn head about - it never seems to look right. I wanted to give the impression that he was tilting his head towards us to look at us. Maybe I need to make his neck squish out to make it look like he is straining forwards. I wil look into it.

Thanks for the comments guys. I nearly missed them as I was never informed by mail that they were there.

JoeW
07-08-2004, 04:18 AM