PDA

View Full Version : Character: Female (First Color Attempt)

BlazeSquall
07-02-2004, 08:33 AM
Ok...

I've been a long time viewer, but this is my first post. :D

It took a lot of courage to do this, because there is so much skill here, most of which I cannot compete with. However, I ultimatly want to better myself as an artist, so what better way than other, more experenced artists, right?

I'm a 17 year old High School senior, studing Computer Networking, CCNA etc. I have no art history, everything is self taught, aside from Highschool art classes, which are more or less a joke, and not for anyone seriously interested in art. At least that has been my experence.

Just as I've had no experence in drawing / inking, my photoshop skills are the same. Just many hours of screwing around, and going for small projects.

The coloring is just that as well, I changed the way I colored it at least four times while doing this. Finding easier and faster ways to create the same look. I think I learned a great deal from this piece, even though, it has many problems, it's really helped.

Drawing, Coloring, and Art in general is a passion, however not something I wish to persue as a career. I am however dedicated, however I lack experenced peers to help me climb.

As far as a critique, I'd really like you guys to rip this apart. Everything from the pose, to the expression, to line art to coloring. Everything. I want to get better, so don't hold back. I know it has problems, many of which I'm aware of, but decided not to correct.

Yes, the upper body did come from a reference, however it was not traced or anything and more or less just a starting point as I often have trouble creating poses myself.

Thanks. (Too lazy to spell check)

http://img73.photobucket.com/albums/v222/BlazeSquall/GirlFinal2.jpg

JARhead
07-02-2004, 09:53 AM
Hey with no experiance its not to shabby . But there are a few things I should point out

The head to me seems a tad to big.