PDA

View Full Version : Anybody use Shake for Linux?


teddy_exoft
07-02-2004, 05:22 AM
Hi all,

anybody use shake for linux? right now i dont have apple computer, i just have a PC with Linux SuSE 9.0 installed. i see in the Apple.com that shake support in linux too. maybe sombody can tell me it is different or not the shake on linux and macOS? i plan to purchase the shake for linux.

thax and sorry about my english

Teddy

roto baggins
07-03-2004, 03:19 AM
shake on linux is the same but more $$$$.

opus13
07-03-2004, 05:20 AM
shake on linux is the same but more $$$$.
...without the proprietary hardware.

FKMaster
07-04-2004, 02:23 PM
i had problem with opengl in suse9.0......not good--->shake not running...
ive tried mandrake, fedora and it works great!.......
5000 bucks for linux version !:sad:
you can get "mac-os-shake" and a apple-machine for the same price:wise:

Byla
07-04-2004, 04:59 PM
That is the whole idea :) . Learn shake, and with the current price tag you will eventualy buy Mac as well.

I use shake on linux. It works fine.

Hugh
07-04-2004, 05:50 PM
We use Shake on Linux - works great (although I've not used it on Mac recently, so I can't really compare it...)

beej
07-04-2004, 06:10 PM
ive used it on linux, osX & nt & i think prefer linux. there isnt much difference, it just felt a little more stable to me. be weary though that it might not be supported by apple as well as the osX version, especially with future releases...

SilentPhoenix
07-18-2004, 09:11 PM
In our lab at school we have Shake on both Linux and Mac, and the only difference I've noticed is that we can only render out movie files from Shake on the Mac boxes. I'm not really sure why that is though, or if thats something related to OS or just how our equipment is set up.

mrgoodbyte
07-19-2004, 10:20 PM
the only difference I've noticed is that we can only render out movie files from Shake on the Mac boxes.

I can render to image sequences without any problems with Shake 3.01 and 3.5 on the Mac.

beej
07-20-2004, 09:08 PM
im guessing silentphoenix is referring to the fact that you cant render .mov files on linux. linux isnt supported by quicktime...

CGTalk Moderation
01-18-2006, 03:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.