PDA

View Full Version : conditonal based on multiple values...

Modulok
06-29-2004, 01:15 PM
This one is probably pretty basic...but I'm new to mel :p ...Is there a way to check if multiple statements are true, and if so do something?

For example, I could say that:

float $der = 0;
if ($der == 0)
{print ("der is 0");};

but...say I wanted to add to that so that it checks the value of more than one variable. I know this next one isn't written right, but thats essentially my question, how to write it correctly so that I can check multiple variables and do something only if they are both true, or both false or bla bla bla... I was thinking along the lines of nested conditional statements...but they don't seem to be working correctly. I don't get a syntax error when I try them... but it doesn't evaluate correctly.

if (($der == 0) AND ($fred == 1))
{print ("der plus fred");}

else {do this};

Thanks for any help on this one
-Modulok-

dwalden74
06-29-2004, 02:17 PM
I guess there would be different ways of doing this. One way would be like this:

if (($der == 0) && ($fred == 1))
print ("der plus fred");

Or like this:

if ($der == 0)
{
if ($fred == 1)
print ("der plus fred");
}

The later would be the "nested" approach. And hopefully you know exactly how many variables you need to check; otherwise you would need to use a recursive approach (to check an arbitrary number of variables).

Modulok
06-30-2004, 09:28 PM
Thank you very kindly, you made my day :)

One other q for you or anyone else... is there a way to use the source command (that I understand isn't even a command at all)

string $roar = "jumbo";
string $der = ("menu_mod" + $roar);
source "$der";

Now...we have a problem. Maya is trying to source a Mel file that doesn't exist...its trying to source $menuName.mel, instead of sourcing the value that the variable $menuName contains.

Ideally it should be something like this...

string $roar = "jumbo";
string $der = ("menu_mod" + $roar);
print ($der);