PDA

View Full Version : Political Collage

Preffered
06-26-2004, 10:46 PM
Hello there, I believe this is my first post here.

I am somewhat new to Graphics, to be honest. Okay, I am very new to graphics, to be completely honest.

I created these two collages today. I would like you to critique them, and tell me what I can keep in mind for future graphics.

Now, keep in mind that this is my first abstract collage.

http://ourworld.cs.com/SltnCraker/PoliticalCollage01.jpg

http://ourworld.cs.com/SltnCraker/PoliticalCollage02.jpg

Well, that's it. I made the cutting and cropping sloppy, to give a gritty, dark feel to an otherwise basic looking graphic.

I implimented 2 main things that most people wouldn't catch. One is a Masonic symbol left of the US flag, the other is the red text to the far left. The text reads "Evil Doers", a phrase Bush coined. I found it quite comical, considering what he has done to America and her troops.
The text is unreadable, intentionally.

Note; I do not intend to flame or argue on my beliefs regarding President Bush. I merely would like constructive critisism on these 2 graphics.

Thank you for reading, and thank you for your critisism.

Pyke
06-27-2004, 10:39 PM
WHERE TO START?

I will not comment on the nature of the collage...but as an 'artistic piece', it comes off as slapped together.

The photo of the eyes is obviously upsampled, and it shows.
The army tanks....same problem. Infact, all of the images come off as looking as tho they were once thumbnails.

Composition wise...well, it lacks any composition. Its hap-hazard. It has no structure, and while that may be what you were going after-it comes off as amaturish.

The cartoon speach bubble looks as tho it was created in MS Paint, and the neon green againsed the purple actually hurts the eyes.

There is to much white.