PDA

View Full Version : get rid of cable modem


status quo
06-24-2004, 03:10 PM
hi

i use a cable internet connection.

i would like to use wireless. i would like to use a wireless modem that would connect to the connetor in the wall ie not have to go through the modem.

is this possible?

thanks

mmangold
06-24-2004, 03:26 PM
You have to use the modem. But you can buy a wireless router that connects to the modem and then go wireless.

status quo
06-24-2004, 05:10 PM
can't someone manufacture a wireless modem? :)

singularity2006
06-24-2004, 05:16 PM
can't someone manufacture a wireless modem? :)
Yeah, ever heard of Ricochet? They went out of business a long time ago. However, I do have one of their old modems in my box. If you want it, PM me and I'll be more than happy to ship it to you to play around w/.

Maven
06-24-2004, 05:21 PM
you don't "get rid" of your cable modem you just do what mmangold said and get a wireless router and plug the cable modem into the router then you will be wireless (for the most part).

glorious100
06-24-2004, 10:10 PM
When going wireless, does this effect the browsing or download speed?

Sieb
06-24-2004, 10:20 PM
http://netgear.com/products/prod_details.php?prodID=160&view=

Its cheaper to just get a wireless router to put behind the modem (http://netgear.com/products/prod_details.php?prodID=151&view=), then you will have a firewall.

You will have to check with your cable provider to see if you can use a modem besides theirs, and what you might be limited to. Otherwise you might need to call their tech support to give them the MAC address of the router so their network will talk to it. You won't really see any difference in surfing speed.

status quo
06-24-2004, 10:53 PM
keyword = "wireless"

i could do with 1 less wire.

i may be able to get my hands on a wireless modem.

btw i can sell my current modem to cover any expenses.

stephen2002
06-25-2004, 12:36 AM
When going wireless, does this effect the browsing or download speed?
Not at all, assuming you have good link quality. The speed of cable is generally 3Mbit/sec if you get "residential" service, 6Mbit/sec for "Pro". The speed of 802.11b is 11Mbit/sec. If you go for 802.11g you have even more room.

Valkyrien
06-25-2004, 01:15 AM
I supposedly get 54Mbits on my wireless connection, and could get 108Mbits if I got a more expensive card:)

3Dfx_Sage
06-25-2004, 07:22 AM
Not at all, assuming you have good link quality. The speed of cable is generally 3Mbit/sec if you get "residential" service, 6Mbit/sec for "Pro". The speed of 802.11b is 11Mbit/sec. If you go for 802.11g you have even more room.
maybe where you live... here it is 786k up / 128 down for the "residential" and 3Mb up / 256K down for the pro. I have a friend in Japan who gets something like 42Mb up/down. So, it really depends on where you live ;)

singularity2006
06-25-2004, 10:43 PM
maybe where you live... here it is 786k up / 128 down for the "residential" and 3Mb up / 256K down for the pro. I have a friend in Japan who gets something like 42Mb up/down. So, it really depends on where you live ;)
I almost wish I lived in Japan. ..... for perspective, my uncle was talking about some country grade routers that Cisco produces that are used between continents.....

a single business grade router in use by the US will give u the performance of a kitchen faucet. The new ones manufactured just for Japan give u the performance equivalent to Niagra Falls.... boy o boy the US is sooo behind... :rolleyes:

3Dfx_Sage
06-25-2004, 10:54 PM
I almost wish I lived in Japan. ..... for perspective, my uncle was talking about some country grade routers that Cisco produces that are used between continents.....

a single business grade router in use by the US will give u the performance of a kitchen faucet. The new ones manufactured just for Japan give u the performance equivalent to Niagra Falls.... boy o boy the US is sooo behind... :rolleyes:
yeah, gigabit is on it's way in japan... gigabit for EVERY HOUSEHOLD. just wow. I didn't even have cable until about 6 months ago.

athosghost
06-25-2004, 11:00 PM
SBC is starting to run fiber to the house and fiber to the node. Not quite gigabit but better than anything we have now (15 to 25 mbs down, 1 to 3 mbs up for everyone!)

http://www.sbc.com/gen/press-room?pid=5097&cdvn=news&newsarticleid=21207

creative destructions
06-26-2004, 02:10 AM
You got to realise Japan is much much smaller than North America. So it's relative cheaper to run a high speed network through the country.

singularity2006
06-26-2004, 05:48 AM
You got to realise Japan is much much smaller than North America. So it's relative cheaper to run a high speed network through the country.
that's true... but still..... at least they could have given California that kind of power. hehehehe....

CGTalk Moderation
01-18-2006, 02:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.