PDA

View Full Version : Animation - Walk cycle exercise

liquidik
06-20-2004, 09:26 PM
Trying to improve my animation skills now that I have some spare time.
Nothing too fancy here, just a simple walk cycle with some personalty, and a lot more passes to do.
I'd love to have some opinions before going on.

Liquid

http://www.liquidnet.it/walk_02.avi

Right click and save target as. Divx 5.1

bawhabmw
06-20-2004, 11:03 PM
looks good to me man! maybe just add some life to his fingers...

other than that it looks good!

//benno

liquidik
06-21-2004, 10:54 AM
Thanks very much! :)

And yes, fingers need work, at the moment they are not animated at all (just a static pose).

I'll post another revision soon :D

skull_leader
06-21-2004, 11:23 AM
I am not an expert but I'll you some honest opinion...

- The hip movement is too feminine.
- Like bawhabmw saids, loosen up the fingers.
- The upper arm swing doesn't look like it has the momentum to cause a bend that "big" in the lower arm.
- If you are animating in 25 frames per second, make sure you frame one is the same as frame 25 and only render from frame one to frame 24 to get a cycle.
- The head movement, leg, shoulder and hip are "individually" good from my point of view but they all look like they are from different types of walk (shoulder look like from a proud walk, leg from a heavy (slightly) walk, head from a normal walk, hip from a woman walk).

Not bad overall since walk cycle is one of the hardest thing to animate. I still haven't been able to animate a good walk cycle that I am satisfied with yet.

liquidik
06-21-2004, 02:19 PM
hey skull_leader., very good eye. I mean that's what I need to improve, my eyes...

Still fighting with the tools though and yes, walk cycles are not so easy (this was my third attempt).
Anyway, I wrote down all your suggestions and I'm try to follow them to improve the animation.
Thanks a lot guys!

Liquid