PDA

View Full Version : Architecture - Kitchen Interior

alexyork
06-14-2004, 11:55 PM
Hi all. Been a while since I've posted some work, as I've been working at an animation studio these last 4 weeks. Now I'm back home with some time to spare, I thought I'd better get back into the swing of things and kick out a render.

This isn't my usual work, but I've never done interiors before so I thought I'd have a bash! :)

http://www.alexyork.co.uk/images/Kitchen-01.jpg

The lack of glossy reflections is a shame, but I don't know how to use them properly yet.

Setup is GI and 3 light-emitting planes. Not a great deal of post work, just a little sharpening and toning. MAX & Brazil.

As usual c&c is very welcome.

Enjoy! :)

PS. I ought to mention that this kitchen was designed by Alea and I was working from a photo for reference. (i changed quite a lot, but the design remained pretty similar).

BillSpradlin
06-15-2004, 12:32 AM
Great work. One thing that bothers me is the overly blown out white areas around the edges where the light is coming in on the left, and ont he right side of the composition. Fix those and this will be a solid piece. That much light coming in and with those highly glossy/reflective surfaces, there would be a lot more bounced light in the room, illuminating it more in the areas where it is currently dark. I'd just tone down those blown out areas and keep the dark places in the picture.

lac
06-15-2004, 01:28 AM
wow, great!!!!

I love this image!!! congratulations!!!!

Arcturus
06-15-2004, 01:47 AM
It depends what you're looking for, but i really like the lighting and texturing of this piece. It gives the whole image a sort of hand-sketched look. If you want to go for realism you'll need to change some of the surface properties but keep this one! :)

alexyork
06-15-2004, 01:07 PM