PDA

View Full Version : best resolution


Carlocki
07-22-2002, 10:38 AM
i'm workin on a project of a board 2.50 meters x 2.50 meters
in the first a ttempt i set 300 dpi on 84 cm x 84 cm (740 MB) picture (1/3 of real board) but the system cannot work propely
whic is best? set 150 dpi on 84 cm x 84 cm (93 MB) or 300 dpi on 42 cm x 42 cm (1/2 of first resizing) (93 MB)
another kind of resolution could be 42 cm x 42 xm on 20 dpi (42 MB)
every resolution use CMYK system color.

thank u for every advice about this stuff:thumbsup:

dvornik
07-22-2002, 11:56 AM
Is it going to be printed at 300 dpi? I doubt it. Try to find out. Also ask about the screen frequency (lpi) of the printer. I'm not an expert in prepress but 300 dpi for that size of image sounds crazy. It's like almost a glossy magazine quality.

Basically you make it the size they need it to print it properly. Could be like between 75 and 150 dots per inch like on some plotters.

thinKer3D
07-22-2002, 02:12 PM
:: at 84cm x84cm, 150dpi is fine ::

:: i miss doing massive print jobs ::

dvornik
07-22-2002, 04:03 PM
I don't know... That would mean your final output (2,5x2,5m) would be at 50 dpi - kind of low, but could be enough. Change dpi, don't change size in cm to get better idea of the output. From the file size point of view it's the same thing.

jeroentje
07-22-2002, 10:01 PM
Just put that size (250cmx250cm) in 72dpi.
Yes it's true that if someone stands with his nose at it he'll see the difference. But for a billboard?
A normal 4 meter billboard I usually put up in 300 dpi. But at a 10% size. So that ends with just 30 dpi full size.

Remember that from 2/3 meters distance no one will see the difference.

cheers, jeroentje

jeroentje
07-22-2002, 10:02 PM
Oh and also remember that for a printer you need lower resolution then for a press anyway...

Carlocki
07-22-2002, 10:05 PM
at the end i used 84 cm x 84 cm for 200 dpi
with 300 dpi my system (1.500 Gbamd 512 MB Ram ge force II gts 32 MB) had some problems

jeroentje
07-22-2002, 10:08 PM
Holy mother...
I have some sort of a filesize limit in the back of my head aswell. Nothing higher then 200Mb for a layerless final eps on my HD.
I want to work. Not to wait ;)

cheers, jeroentje

Meka
07-22-2002, 11:28 PM
I live in France and often do billboards for my job. we usually do 'em at 1/10th the final scale @ 300 dpi.
the films are output @ 150 lpi then "projected" 10x. therefore resulting in a 4x3 m bilboard offset printed @ 15 lpi.

Chris
07-22-2002, 11:40 PM
I did a 9m x 18m billboard at 9dpi once, it looked sweet as from the viewing distance (it was on the side of a building, quite high up)

Carlocki
07-23-2002, 12:45 AM
so 1/3 of the dimension at 200 dpi id it good?
to insert an image from a 3d software what kind of setings have i to respect for the rendering output?
which format?
:scream:

thinKer3D
07-23-2002, 01:53 PM
:: largest Photoshop image I ever worked on was 1.2GB. 600MB on 2 gold CD's. Damn it was fun! :: :buttrock:

smoothdvd
08-03-2002, 04:59 AM
if u are doing billboards, 72dpi will works great well!

wyktor
08-27-2002, 09:39 PM
I don't know what's the character of the artwork/billboard,
but why don't you try to do it in Illustrator?
It can do lot of stuff the same way as photoshop does. If you need
to do some bitmap stuff, just import low res psd files (it supports layers (also layer transitions (overlay, multiply etc. and also transparency)), and at the end, just replace low res w/ high res bitmap. Export to psd, eps, pdf, jpg....

It will be much faster than photoshop

Marley
08-29-2002, 07:57 PM
to insert an image from a 3d software what kind of setings have i to respect for the rendering output?

Your 3D Package will most likely render your images in 72dpi (screen resolution) [and to be precise it doesn't render dpi at all, but a specific number of pixels] - So if you paste this image into a higher resolution work it will be "scaled down" in order to fit the new resolution without loosing quality (pixels) - For 200 dpi that would mean rendering about 3 times larger (!)

cheers (i hope i got that right)

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 11:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.