PDA

View Full Version : Character: low poly Thanos


elfufu
06-12-2004, 04:47 AM
Heres a quick model i did in 2 days for my Characters for Games class.

still need to tewak it a bit but thought id show it now.http://www.warproductions.com/thanos.jpg

agentcub
06-12-2004, 05:21 AM
You've got a pretty good start. Here's what I'd change. The body is fine, but the base of his legs need to be thicker as well as his arms. His hands need to be bigger. And I would make his head more square. Thanos is a massive thick character. Other than that, it's looking pretty good.

Good job.:thumbsup:

elfufu
06-17-2004, 11:24 PM
http://www.warproductions.com/thanos_head.jpg

elfufu
06-17-2004, 11:27 PM
I know the leg muscles are too boxy something is wrong with my displacement map. and yes these are still 3000 polys with displacements

http://www.warproductions.com/front_BNW.jpg http://www.warproductions.com/thanos_color.jpg

phillycheese81
06-18-2004, 02:30 AM
Maybe i am missunderstanding you. do you mean that its 3000 poly and then displacment = billion trillion poly, or...
is model + displacment = 3000 poly?

3000 poly with displacment is not 3000 poly. when you displace somthing the computer will create more polys for that displacement. unless you tell the computer to NOT create more polys for displacment, but based on the smoothnees of the outline of your character i think the comp is creating polys. plus few if any games support displacement. so why use it? you should take your high resolution displaced character and turn that into a normal map or bump map for your low poly version.

You head alone is prob. 3000 polys when you put displacement on it. if you are useing Max or Maya, freeze off the displacement, then check your poly count to see what i mean.

why do you have so much texture detail in the face? how many games have close ups? use some of those pixels in the rest of the character.

What size texture are you useing?
A full character wire frame would be nice, and a picture of your texture maps. scale it down if its to big. just tell us how far you scaled it (50%, 25%, 75%, etc.)

The crotch seems to have a problem with the displacement.

Keep up the work,
- Phillycheese81

KolbyJukes
06-18-2004, 02:52 AM
you doing Normal Mapping or Displacement mapping?

-Kol.

elfufu
06-18-2004, 06:24 AM
displacement the bottom ones are not for real time, they were just to see what i can get out of a game character using displacement.


like i said i did this game model for class i figured i might as well displace it out since i have the model done,and amped it up to 1 bizziliion polys

CGTalk Moderation
01-18-2006, 12:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.