PDA

View Full Version : how does UVW system work exactly ????

gamekill
06-06-2004, 07:46 PM
Hi!

I am not new to design but I am relatively new to 3D design. I am trying to focus on texturing and specialize in this area. The software that is used where I work is 3DS MAX 6.

What I can't quite understand is the whole basic concept behind the UVW system. What do exactly the U V and W coordinates mean? Are they relative to the object or the world? How can I roughly predict where a map will show on an object (front, back, top, under it...), and what size it will be relative to the object?

Also creating procedual textures, I have problem predicting where they are gonna show up, and what will their relative size be to an object... for example if I create a simple black/white checkered texture and intend to use it as a wallpaper on a bedroom's right side wall, I have to keep tweaking it's UVW map and tiling size blindly until it gets acceptable. What should be the relation between UVW orientation/size and object orientation/size?

Where can I truly learn the UVW system and it's use?

I feel this is something a lot of people overlook...

If you know the UVW principles please help!

:cry: :surprised :scream: :cry:

erilaz
06-07-2004, 01:33 AM
First of all, UVW coordinates correspond in the 2d texture to the XYZ coordinates of a mesh. U is relative to X, V to Y, and W is a perpendicular plane to the UV, used for flipping coordinates and for 3d procedural materials.

It's all explained fairly clearly under the help file in max. :)

gamekill
06-08-2004, 11:47 AM
Yeah it just came across my mind shortly after posting my question... "RTFM" lol

Ok thanks a lot anyway for your reply... I started reading the manual and just began to feel more comfortable with uvw... I just hope I can get it clear on how to map uvs inside mat ids, and even on top of other uvs... k back to the reading!

:thumbsup: :applause: :scream: :scream:

Toxic Frog
06-08-2004, 02:34 PM