PDA

View Full Version : BIOS Reset on an eMachine.... ar?F


singularity2006
05-22-2004, 07:35 AM
Okay, I put a password on an eMachine I was working on and totally forgot the BIOS password. I was working on an eMachine eTower 633 and cannot find any jumpbers at all on the motherboard.... I popped out the CMOS battery but it was still locked when I booted up. The emachine website has no documentation, and neither do I. Any suggestions on other ways to reset the BIOS?

quinox
05-22-2004, 09:23 AM
* Using a manufacturers backdoor password to access the BIOS
* Use password cracking software
* Removing the CMOS battery for at least 20 minutes

click (http://labmice.techtarget.com/articles/BIOS_hack.htm)

Ice Czar
05-22-2004, 05:37 PM
^ :thumbsup:



* Use password cracking software


most will show up as malware when you do a virus scan
thats normal so dont flip out ;)

singularity2006
05-23-2004, 05:02 AM
score! Thansk for the link. I'm gonna give it a go when I'm back in the office! :beer:

Valkyrien
05-23-2004, 05:03 AM
good ol' battery yank. Never fails;)

singularity2006
05-23-2004, 05:15 AM
Originally posted by Valkyrien
good ol' battery yank. Never fails;)
haha, yeah, did that. It didn't go. But then again, I didn't think of leaving the battery out for 20min. Maybe that'll work.

CGTalk Moderation
01-18-2006, 06:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.