PDA

View Full Version : Rope- Easier Said than Done


T-1000
05-05-2004, 01:59 AM
Indeed, rope is pretty tough. I'm trying to make rope and lots of it- the kind that'd run from a hamock say, to a tree. I'm going for something highly exagerated (held up by like 10 strands per side), but 3DSM5's interface is doing everything it can to prevent me from making rope look logical and real.

How would the pros do this?

Theht
05-05-2004, 02:12 PM
take a n-gon spline sacle every secount point inside and champfer all points. than use loft to define the lengeth and direction ist should go.twist it and apply a meshsmooth.

annice texture or shader and finished.

if you want use many of these you should display them as box.

if there are questions i will help.

CGTalk Moderation
01-18-2006, 05:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.