PDA

View Full Version : 3D Max 6

Deathstar75
05-01-2004, 02:26 PM
Hey guys,

Was wondering if anyone has bought any Max 6 books, and they could recommend them to someone that is not a total noob, but is not too advanced either.

Thanks

Deathstar

markdc
05-01-2004, 08:36 PM
I recommend going through the tutorials that come with it first before getting any book. 3dbuzz.com also has some excellent video tutorials (though I hear they're hard to get these days). The best book I ever read for max was "Mastering the Art of Production with 3dsmax 4." It's not for a complete beginner though.

Wizdoc
05-18-2004, 07:39 PM
I did buy the Max 6 Bible. I'm on the fence whether or not to recommend it. It does cover pretty much everything Max, but it only scrapes the surface and doesn't go into very much detail in how a given option can be used in various of ways. Only "this knob does that - figure how to apply it into your stuff on your own". And the art is pretty average, but I guess it's job is to illustrate the functions, not sell the capabilities of the software.

So, only pick it up if you're a total newbie or are specialized in a narrow field of work and want to peek over the fence (so to speak) and read the basics on how things are work in general all around Max from modeling, to rigging to renderings. But don't expect any exhaustive discussion on how Particle Flow, or Mental Ray works for instance.

It's a nice read, but personally, I think Max's own manual, tutorials and the online help files do a better work.

DJ_Lizard
05-22-2004, 03:01 PM
If talking about books, is there anything for advanced users? Coz all books I can find is like "learn max in 1 month", Max 6 bible sux. The only way is to read tutorials on the net :bowdown: . But there must be a book, wich would be something more than beginer guide to max... Thanks..

XavierChill
05-25-2004, 11:59 PM
anyone know a 3ds max books mainly covers both lighting and texturing?

Tommy5547
05-26-2004, 08:05 AM