PDA

View Full Version : Using Particles with Depth


cornbreadandham
04-26-2004, 05:56 PM
Hello, I rendered my logo with a depth buffer and now i want to spin some particles arond the logo so they disappear as they go behind it. any hints?

Jayk2k
04-27-2004, 04:48 PM
Yeah, this should be relatively simple.

Set up your particle system (in DF I assume) and be sure to check the "generate z buffer" in the prender node. (you may also need to check the "depth merge particles" )

Then merge it with your logo, and be sure to check the channels tab and set the "perform depth merge"

Now if all goes well, it should work. But that rarely happens. Depending on where in Z space your logo sits, and where in Z your particles sit, they may not mesh right.

What you can do, is add a custom tool to one of your layers, and enter an expression in the Z channel.

Something like z1*n1. Then in the controls tab, slide the n1 slider untill they mesh correctly.

cornbreadandham
04-30-2004, 02:46 AM
That worked perfectly, Thanks alot!

CGTalk Moderation
01-18-2006, 04:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.