PDA

View Full Version : ilustration opium's dream

elperrosiames
04-23-2004, 08:47 AM
Hello, this is my first post, done at work during spare time. I work as a video compositor, but I wish I worked as an ilustrator, so donīt be cruel so you donīt kill my ilusion.:p
http://anigon.wanadooadsl.net/opiumsdream.jpg http://anigon.wanadooadsl.net/opiumsdreamsketch.jpg

Pibre3d
04-23-2004, 11:42 AM
Cool! Looks kind of surrealistic. The woman and the animal are great, but I would have liked it better if the background was thought over a bit better.

Lianad
04-23-2004, 04:14 PM
You definately have talent and I can see a lot of potential with this piece.

Overall I think you did a great job, but it just doesn't look finished to me, it needs a lot more refining. The woman and the beast are the closest to looking finished in my eyes, you have some very nice smooth blending on the skin. I just think it needs to be refined a bit more and cleaned up a little bit.

I think the smoke from the pipe is just all wrong (but thats just my opinion). I can tell it is supposed to be smoke from the shape and where it is placed, but it looks like its carved out of wood or rock. I think it needs to be more whispy and softer around the edges to give it that smoke feel. In some anime/cartoon styles you will see hard edged smoke like this, but it just doesn't seem to match here with the style you have going on..

The background... I think you could do a lot of work here. The rocks in the foreground have a great start, I just think they look to monotonous. I'd try adding some more colors to them, break up the same 3 shades of grey. I also think in some places you went a little overboard with the shadows on the rocks, almost looks like they are thickly outlined in black, hope that makes sense.