PDA

View Full Version : Z depth in Shake - how?

Byla
04-22-2004, 03:46 PM
Forgive me, I am total newbee when it comes to shake.

And today I have came uppon a problem - Maya Zdepth in Shake 2.5. I am sure it should and could be done, but so far, I have failed miserably.

There are two nodes for Z depth in shake. Which one should I choose? I tried both, but no sucess. There is 100 % a Z depth information in the file, I can check it both in Shake and Fcheck. Iff file. Maya render.

I have read many posts about this particular subject, but noone suggest plain and simple solution. I remember solving this problem half a year ago with a special plugin node for Shake, which was given to me by my tutor. It worked simple as! But it seems I cant find that beefed up node and I can figure out the solution.

Can anyone suggest straight forward solution for this problem? Please.

arvid
04-22-2004, 09:14 PM
Theres a simple tutorial in the docs covering that, walk through them and see if you can apply the same thing to your images

alexx
04-23-2004, 09:03 AM
there is a small macro on highend3d called "viewMayaZ", which i personally use a lot..
it helps you bring your z-image to a visible range.

i use that one then to use reglar operations, that are not based on Z info anymore but on rgb values, which makes the handling a lot easier..
but be wrned that like that you lose some of the precission of the channel, but i never encountered visible artifacts.

cheers

alexx

Byla
04-23-2004, 09:11 AM
Alex, will try that... thanks a lot.

opacity, same thanks....

fr3drik
03-20-2005, 01:44 PM
I recently wrote a quick tutorial on this. Check it out (http://www.averpil.com/fredrik/index.php?page=tutorials&id=1).

abarman
04-14-2005, 08:01 AM
Hi Fredrik , ur tutorial is really very informative. Thanks.
but one thing i noticed, if i am not wrong, Maya Z-map is not antialiased, how do u solve that problem?

fr3drik
04-14-2005, 08:41 AM