PDA

View Full Version : vehicle: New Beetle

bossanova
04-21-2004, 02:42 PM
I'm a long time viewer of CG talk who has finally registered so he could put his work into the fray. This is a still for my thesis in NYU. I modelled the car using Maya 5 for 2 months. A big thank you to Thomas Suurland for his blueprints and his works which is a constant benchmark for me.

This is my first time modelling something this detailed. I initially used NURBS, building just one half of the car, but I hit a deadend when I came to the part of attaching the mirror NURBS geometry as you can't attach trimmed surfaces and I never was satisfied with the results of the stitch tool. I'm amazed at how other NURBS car modellers got around this and hope you could drop a message on how you did it. Eventually I converted to Polys to do rest of the work to seamlessly combine the mirrored half. Most of the interior was done with polys.

This is rendered in mental ray and as much as I want to show some more angles, my command line renders stops midway as it doesn't have enough memory. I have 1 gig of ram and 5 gigs of virtual memory allocated, but it still conks out even if it's just using 1.2 gigs of 'commit charge' in the task manager window. I don't know what this means but I've been told also I'm doing something wrong as I should be doing something to let mental ray optimize the renders with whatever memory I have. Any helpful advice on optimizing this mental ray render who be appreciated. I had to delete all the parts not seen in the camera's angle to pull of this render.

Since I converted to polys as stated above, the wireframe mesh is unbelievably dense so it's not practical to post the wireframe for you guys.

Anyways...any further requests of other angles will have to wait till around May as I still have yet to finish my thesis. I will try my best, or if I'm able to pull a render overnight, to add requested images.