PDA

View Full Version : CG and Free Software

sadwind
04-11-2004, 03:19 PM
Hi,
I'm studying a lot on CG and Programming. But i'm a lot interested in CG and Programming using LINUX....How do you experts see it??? Can you give me some ideia of How to Start well?...
Actually I'm studying C for linux and 3dSMax6 (on my own) ....

thanks a lot men!

babydog0
04-12-2004, 01:58 AM
hi sadwind,

I have used linux before, but i dont think it's a convinent system for CG or Gamedesign, but a very good system for C++ programmer and system learners.

:wavey:

sadwind
04-12-2004, 06:29 PM
HI man!

Yes i see, i have in my machine Linux Slackware 9.1 with Kernel 2.4.22 (but i'm compiling the 2.6.5 =] ) ... I knew that CG for GNU/LINUX was difficult due the problem of the softwares compatibility.

Lemme change the questiong now...

1 ) What about the softwares made for GNU/LINUX??? Ex. : GIMP, BLENDER, etc.

2) I read a notice from Macromedia that the company was making some versions of its softwares to run better with WINE, that is for who doesn't know it's a kind of emulator of Windows' API in GNU/LINUX systens, I thought this was a very good notice, for the first step i can use Macromedia softwares in GNU/LINUX, ok. But i'd to know how do you see GNU/LINUX runnig some Discreet sofwtares??? Is it possible for a far, far day in my life (hehehehe) ?????

I'm very glad in my learnig LINUX days ( =] ). Nad i would make anything that is possible to run my WINDOW$ Softwares in my Slackware!

Thanks for all men...=]

PS: I'd really love to discuss this with the people from CGTALK, it's a good thread i think, lots and lots of days just discussing about it!!!

playmesumch00ns
04-13-2004, 09:05 AM
Actually, Linux is a great system for CG. For most purposes it's much better than windows.

The only thing holding it back really is the lack of availability of some software (i.e. photoshop).

Just learn how to program in C/C++, OpenGL and 3D maths and you're away.