PDA

View Full Version : Cinema 4d vs Maya

oldbat
04-04-2004, 03:54 PM
We are trying to decide between Cinema 4d and Maya
for our graphics design studio. I have limited experience in Maya and appreciate the lights and particles, but no experience in Cinema

Advice from anyone who works on both will be appreciated.

Srek
04-04-2004, 04:57 PM
Hi,
knowing what kind of work you want to do would help. How many people will work with the application?
This has been discussed many times and the general consens was that you have to try out both demos to see what fits you best.
As for lighting and particles, the ligting options in CINEMA stand up to any other app and Thinking Particles will allow for realy sophisticated particle effects.
Cheers
Srek

danb
04-04-2004, 05:35 PM
(cough) Price tag (cough). :p

No really. I prefer cinema4d for graphic design because it is quick. Great renderer, imo, maya's is the slowest.

thorn3d
04-04-2004, 06:56 PM
http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=19315

kevin3d
04-05-2004, 01:37 PM
I teach at Ohio State, which is very committed to Maya, but have selected Cinema4D for my own work.

Based on what Maya users at OSU tell me, Maya is great if you use it all the time. If you don't use it constantly, you will need to "re-learn" it everytime you pick it up.

Cinema4D is, IMHO, much better for graphic designers. Its easier to use, has good intergration with Photoshop & After Effects, and is cheapier (depending on your options). Etc.

Both are great apps!

see http://www.insidecg.com/feature.php?id=136

andrewj
04-05-2004, 01:55 PM
a bit late, but i think it may be still okay to post a reply here:

it totally depends on the things you want to do with it. we use both softwares in our studio.

if you want to get a highend product you will need cinema with all its modules which costs as much as maya complete (nearly).

maya has some tools to offer which i miss totally in cinema 4d: