PDA

View Full Version : Soft Shadows...Is there an easy way

benfirehose
07-09-2002, 04:15 PM
Just started using Softimage for school. Now don't get me wrong, it's a great program. But the default lighting is like something out of a horror movie. Is there a way to do soft shadows an easy way. I've tried some of the Final gathering and Global Illumintion tutorials on edharris.com and 3dbuzz.com and they just don't do the trick. maybe I'm looking in the wrong place, so...PLEASE HELP ME OUT!!

rotaryman
07-09-2002, 04:56 PM
Did you try playing with the Umbra settings on shadow?? if that doesn't do the trick then convert the light to an area light that should do the trick.

Good Times!

allawy
07-09-2002, 05:25 PM
Hi;

I'm new to XSI too, VERY new to 3D world tools too :), anyway, yes, there is a way but unfortunatily I think I have not master it very well yet, but it works!

Now from my little experience I know that soft shadow come only with area lights, this is why you have to pick point or spot light, go to it's properties sheet, and choose Area tab from there, activate the area checkbox and you have one.

now there are other factors you have to play around with, for the smaple here I choosed a sphere, 10 for smapleing and 60 scale for x,y,and z.

This is it, it take allot of time to render (for just a shaow), I'm not sure if other pacakges do this simpler than this.

now if I saved your life, I expect similar thing from you in the future :)

Regards

allawy
07-09-2002, 05:28 PM
OOOOPS, I forgot to say that you have to activate the shadow form the light sheet too, and yes paly with Umbra to get some degree of darkness with the light.

I think this hsould have been simpler :hmm:

benfirehose
07-09-2002, 06:14 PM
THANKS GUYS, it worked. Pretty simple too, you don't need the final gathering or global illumintion to pull it off either. I'll be sure to have somthing posted for your viewing pleasure in no time.

Vic3k
07-09-2002, 07:33 PM