PDA

View Full Version : Horizontal Lines across Render (100k image)


minus
01-28-2002, 11:06 AM
http://www.opnotic.com/wip/kara16x.jpg
Can someone tell me why I occasionally get horizontal lines across my render? -- You can see it here mostly in the shadow... but the lines are evenly spaced and as such then you can see em everywhere if you look. I've gotten this before in other renders. I'm using LW 7b.

JacquesD
01-28-2002, 11:52 AM
I'm not sure but It may comes from your segment memory in your camera panel.
If it renders in 2 or more segments, try to increase the memory to render it in 1 segment.

minus
01-29-2002, 06:47 AM
Thanks a lot for the info.
I just got done reading up all on camera segment memory in the manual and I think this will fix the problem. Heh.. I'm quite new to Lightwave... (3 weeks in)... and this particular pic rendered in 10 segments... I'll have to try it when I get home but hopefully 512MB of RAM will be enough to render it in one.... If not I can atleast cut it down some and buy more RAM to boot.

fellah
01-30-2002, 01:28 AM
10segments!!! weeiiiiii, that was MUCH! I haven't seen anything above 2 segments.
I don't think you need more RAM, I have rendered more than 200.000 polygons with 32MB segment memory in 1 pass, and, I could probably render more ;)

minus
01-30-2002, 02:12 AM
Thanks that was it! --- The default segment memory is *sooo* low. Was strange reading news group posts on the issue from 1998 when people only had 64MB or the Leet had 128. I set my Segment memory to 300MB and it rendered this in one pass a treat. Thanks for your help here.

Fedaykin
02-01-2002, 05:12 PM
300 megs is WAY more than you need to set, in order to render 1600*1200 in one pass you only need to set a 77mb segment!

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 12:39 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.