PDA

View Full Version : My 1st Render A Problem

Fess
03-18-2004, 01:53 AM
Hello,

I'm currently studying Maya Fundamentals. I have completed a project and am ready to render it.

My problem is when I try to render via Render>Batch Render, Maya renders the perspective and not my camera.

The camera I wish to render is called "BoatCamara". I set it to "BoatCamara" in the Render Globals window & still get the same problem.

How can I render my entire animation (360 frames) with "BoatCamara" view?

I am a beginner & any help is greatly appreciated...

Regards
Fess

lowkey
03-18-2004, 06:53 AM
this is know behaviour of maya and i don't know if there's a workaround for this, but you should consider to always go for command-line rendering, when doing something serious.-

you can override every single aspect of your renders by setting the desired flags.

do the following:

open up the shell (windows command-line)

type -> render -s 0 -e 360 -b 0 -cam BoatCamera C:\..\maya\scenes\scenefile.mb -rd C:\renderDir

the render command envokes mayas standard renderer, if you want to go with mentalRay you'll have to look up the corresponding command from the manual.

-e -s -b specifies the start and end frames and their padding in between.

-cam cameraName overrides the camera settings from the render globals.

X:\..\filename.mb is the location and name of your scenefile.

-rd X:\..\renderDirName explicitly chooses the directory for your final output. if you don't set this flag, images will go to your standard render directory (i.g. ..\maya\images).

hope this helps! :thumbsup:

rollmops
03-18-2004, 10:33 AM
Could you make sure that the only renderable camera is "BoatCamara" ?

elvis75k
03-18-2004, 05:01 PM