PDA

View Full Version : Animation Frame speed ??


Moon47
03-14-2004, 04:13 PM
Making a SHORT flythrough in a modeled room...
The animation is 60 frames long...
When viewing in QuickTime (OS X) the movie is very quick...
How can i slow the motion down with out adding more frames... ??

I have tried several codecs sorensten, jpeg, mpeg...

I have also tried 8-60 frames pre sec... They all seem to play at the same spped in QuickTime...

:hmm:

Rei Ayanami
03-14-2004, 04:48 PM
The codec isnt going to have any effect on the speed. You need to render / composite it at 20-30fps to slow it down.

in rendering options - output files - anim - options - motion (quicktime) and set that to 20-30 whatever.

that should be it (if i remember right)

Orkman
03-15-2004, 01:03 AM
On a related note, the start of my animation is fast, and the rest fine. Is there a way to grab all keyframes after say frame 100 and push them down more? Then readjust frames before that?

Thanks!

Moon47
03-15-2004, 02:54 AM
Yup...

Tried the 20-30fps along with 8fps through 60fps...

No affect in the final qt animation...

erikals
03-15-2004, 07:46 AM
(Isn't there a way in Layout to "stretch" the animation?
never did it though).

Rei Ayanami
03-15-2004, 09:21 PM
In the scene editor (think) you can select all the keyframes and stretch them out to match the first part of the scene.

that probably isnt 100% right, but it should point you in the right direction (im just a modeler)

tais
03-15-2004, 11:35 PM
becare, that will not scale morph and texture envelopes.

nismoS132
03-15-2004, 11:51 PM
render the 2nd half seperately and speed it up/slow it down in a composite program.

be warned, too slow and it's going to be pixelated badly.


on another note, how do you render slow-motion in LW? in max, if you wanted to do some bullet time effect, you could add say another 1000 frames between the 1st and 2nd sec. not sure how in LW.

Beamtracer
03-15-2004, 11:56 PM
Yes, the Scene Editor is where you can move all the keyframes by a percentage. This will have the effect of making the animation longer or shorter.

Moon47
03-16-2004, 12:51 AM
:lightbulb

Try the graph editor as well as the scene editor to move the frames around...

gerardo
03-16-2004, 04:28 AM
General Options/Frames per second/

This scale all parameters of all items in your scene :)


Gerardo

scotttygett
03-16-2004, 07:29 AM
Ctrl and left mouse button in graph editor with the third icon under the editor clicked is for stretching keyframes.

It actually has a little help menu that's very cute.

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 05:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.