PDA

View Full Version : // Info (Mayatomr): Aborted //


pixel mixer
03-11-2004, 02:16 PM
// Error: (Mayatomr) : mental ray has stopped with errors, see the log //
// Info (Mayatomr): Aborted //

i've seen this so many times ... but i never figured out where is the LOG for mental ray? the one for maya does not say anything when rendering with mray

any clues?

annaleah
03-11-2004, 02:48 PM
Have you edited your "RAYRC File"?
If you have you might want to recheck things....
If not then I dont know where to start....















Annaleah

misterdi
03-12-2004, 04:09 AM
Isn't it the same "mayaRenderLog.txt" in your "$HOME/maya" directory?.

Usually all render output console message when you batch render also pipe to this file.

Have you check it?.

pixel mixer
03-12-2004, 07:48 AM
misteridi: no, it's not the same log
annaleah: rc is fine

usually it outputs stuff to the OutputWindow but where is the mental ray LOG?

misterdi
03-12-2004, 09:18 AM
which version of Maya you are running on?

I found, if i do batch render with mental ray, the log also contain the data. I'm running on 5.0.1

If it is inside maya, then there will be no addition to the log, it's only logging when I use batch render.

misterdi
03-12-2004, 09:26 AM
One thing that I know really frustating is when Mentalray abort and complaining about texture.

Usually it happens with tiff file that using LZW compression. Opening the files in photoshop and save it back with no compression usually help.

Seem mentalray doesn't like tiff with LZW compression.

AniMo
03-12-2004, 02:44 PM
hehe
yea misterdi its the right direction
mental ray has some couple probs with
file textures
be sure to not have wrong compression on tif
and i u use jpg or whatever format and got the texture from a printing company for ea
and they used "cmyk" for the texture
be sure to convert it to rgb before saving it O_X

mental ray hates cmyk ~~

thats what i found out
whenever mental ray aborts it has to do with some texture probs
but usally its mentioned it the outliner like :
bad texture coudlnt read-wrong type of.. bla bla bla....
hope it helps

pixel mixer
03-12-2004, 04:37 PM
mental images as far as i know have no license for using compressed tiff files as textures, i always use uncompressed tifs! and of course always rgb no cymk. the funny thing is that sometimes i press 3 times the renderbutton and one time it renders other two times just aborts ...

maya and it's misterious ways ...

all i want to know is where is the log, i can take care of the rest!

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 04:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.