PDA

View Full Version : Looping


what_happened
03-10-2004, 11:40 PM
How can I go about looping a fire animation?

Take, for instance, the Newtek example
(C:\LightWave\Scenes\Tutorial\HVFire.)

I am trying to set up a scene that will loop endlessly, using fire as a background, but I need the last frame to be like the first frame for a seamless loop.

Thanks in advance for any help.

what_happened
03-11-2004, 01:06 AM
OK, I can get pretty close, but I do see a small jump between the last frame and the first.

Using Partilce emitter:

Birth rate: 1.0

Generated by frame

fixed (start frame -90)
90 key frames total in animation

particle limit: 1000

What else can I do to make this fire seamless?

I am wondering if I should actually do this in AE.

Render out 110 frames, and fade the last 10 frames to zero, while I add in another layer on top of that of the animation again. But I can see where I will run into trouble... never-ending layers.

It can't be that hard to loop fire, I am just missing some small setting I am sure.

If you have any experience, please help.

thanks

gerardo
03-11-2004, 07:46 AM
Here there is a technique of Loopable Chaos", I believe that you can adapt it to the fire effect that you need :)

http://www.whitneyfamily.org/Dave/Tutorials/?item=Loop&Page=1


Gerardo

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 05:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.