PDA

View Full Version : Where to find programming recources, visual c++, direct x, open GL

uglyvegan
03-10-2004, 11:42 AM
I'm currently a freelance graphics artist, my main tools are 3d studio max and Photoshop. Though I am also proficient in MAYA.
OK, Ill skip the rest of the introduction and try to keep this short.
I don't want to just be an artist anymore :cry:
Don't get me wrong, I love modeling, texturing, and animating. Its just that I want more, I want to be able to model animate and 'code.
I want to see under the hood. mmm' :drool: gamegoo...yum!
Can you help me?
I don't have the finances to go back to school.
If you have any suggestions, such as online resources, books, or other wise that might help me learn to program games please let me know. I'm a bit overwhelmed.
(I read the book "3d game programming in direct X 8.1", I found it very useful but lost it in my move from the US to the UK. Im hoping to replace it once i find a job but im currently broke)

Thanks for any help you can give
Kory

:bowdown: Praised be all who help me in my quest :bowdown:

stoo
03-11-2004, 12:45 PM
Well, for the programming language (C/C++) i'd go to a decent sized bookstore and just start looking through some relevant books until you find one which is pretty managable. Some of them will have a CD included which may have an evaluation version of Visual Studio bundled within, which I think is a lovely dev environment to work with (version 6 and up including the new .Net stuff).