PDA

View Full Version : creating 3d animation for Flash

Tarscher
03-07-2004, 07:31 PM
Hi all,

I have been assigend to create a website and was thinking in using some 3d flash animation. It will be used to explain the working method of a machine.

I 'm using Maya as my 3D package but have no experience using 3d vector rendering. Lucky eough I have version 5 which comes with a build in vector renderen.
Someone has exprecience with it in using flash animations? Is it any good or do you prefer a plugin...
Maybee I can see some examples...

kind regards
Stijn

RAK
03-07-2004, 08:36 PM
One tip.
build your models very carefull. Normaly its a good thing to not let all the geometry join, but leave a small gap that would be coverd by the outline of the vector render.
This has the advantage that seam lines are crisp and follow the right contours.

I would not consider gooing for other plugins (I have a lot of experience withe the Inkworks and Swiffworks pluginn from CAS). But they have stopped supporting them as the native vector renderer in Maya is as good but a lot cheaper...

as for examples i will have a look for you...

AshtonWoolley
03-08-2004, 01:37 PM
Hey man

You can export 3D animations into flash easyly, you just export it as a SWF file, the only problem i have heard of with this is that the file is quite big and quite anoyying to download if the geust/view of the site has dial up or then have broadband but dont want to waste there bandwith.

ASW

Scott Harris
03-08-2004, 07:34 PM
I tried out the maya vector render for fun and I really liked it...

It works good if you are willing to be creative and patient with the limitations...

I was going to post this when I was further along but I am redoing my site with some vector stuff so you can take a look

meta-phor v2 (http://www.meta-phor.com/enter)

this is not much so far but i guess its an example...

Scott Harris
03-08-2004, 07:45 PM
uhg...double post...

Sorry...

Tarscher
03-09-2004, 12:48 AM