PDA

View Full Version : Yet another flickery and noisy render with Final Gather anim


Macj
03-05-2004, 01:26 PM
I've been struggling the past several days trying to get a shot of a camera swooping past my static polygonal model using no other source of light other than Final Gather that is set to 400, min radius 0 max radius 0. On this model I have high res color maps and bump maps. In the still renders, all appears to be fine, the problem I'm encountering is this obnoxious flickering and noise on my textures when viewing the rendered animation (making my mountain appear like a casino). From searching through this forum, its obvious to me that I'm not the first to have such a problem. One solution that is commonly offered is to adjust the min radius and max radius until all is smooth. No matter what value I enter for this, the render seems to take an eternity so I never got to check the results. I've been told that it helps to measure your scene to find the right values, but I'm not sure where the measure tool is at. So I've tried everything that I can think of at this point;

turning "Rebuild Final Gather" off, and saving to a file,

I have tried adjusting the filter offset;

Using Jitter;

I tried changing the filtering type on my textures to Gaussian from Quadratic;

I've tried different sampling qualities,

Anyways, I'm just not getting anywhere with this problem so I'd appreciate any help I can get

-Josh

playmesumch00ns
03-06-2004, 11:55 AM
You gots to crank the sampling and final gather rays right up. Of course it's going to take an eternity.

Macj
03-06-2004, 06:32 PM
What value do you estimate will solve the flicker? I've cranked it up to 1000 and it has no effect on the flicker whatsoever. What sampling values do you recommend I crank up? The contrast RGBA, min samples, max samples? What does sample lock do?

Also, when I turn final Gather off the flicker is still there. This leads me to believe that the problem might have something to do with Texture Filtering in Mental Ray. I've heard that there is some special tricky way to achieve texture filtering in Mental Ray, but I can't seem to figure it out (elliptical filtering). Also, I have over 30 materials in my scene, and I'm not sure if they all need to be replaced or not in order to get the texture filtering to work. I wish the issue was just a final gather one, that would make the problem a lot more simple. Does anyone have any suggestions?

-Josh

-=TF=-
03-06-2004, 08:12 PM
to speed up you fg animation you could try this tip here
http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=120325&goto=nextoldest

good luck!

ajsfuxor
11-16-2004, 10:42 PM
how did you go with the texture flickering Macj? I have the same problem. Im rendering in two passes, one with FG and the other without FG, yet the texture flickers the same in both, which means the flicker is coming from the texture themselves, not the FG.



Did you figure out a way to solve it?



PS. Im only rendering a camera move.

ovendelon
11-17-2004, 06:40 AM
if you have textures applied at your object change their filter to mipmap. I had very strong flicker with the default quadratic

floze
11-17-2004, 02:51 PM
Here's a scheme how to apply an elliptical filter to your filetextures.
You could also use my humble phenomenon (dont forget to register it in the rayrc) which has the same effect, just a little bit more compacted workflow.
Use the mib_texture_filter_lookup node (or my ellipticFilter phen. node) just like you would use a filetexture node and enjoy sharp and flickerfree textures. :)
By the way: mr supports only mipmap filtering of standard filetexture nodes, so selecting quadratic filter has the same effect like mipmap (pyramid filtering).

:lightbulb NB: The 'Filter' and 'Filter Size' options in mentalrayTexture nodes control the compression of the texture, not any (noise-) filtering.

edit: Added a filter comparsion image. Shots done with min/max samples -1/1 and mitchell kernel. Elliptical filtering shows its skills specially at low sample values.

ybleong10
12-03-2004, 07:45 AM
may be u can try to chech the sample lock in smpling quality

rollmops
12-03-2004, 11:52 AM
Thanx a lot Floze! :love:

floze
12-03-2004, 01:25 PM
Rollmops: I recently found out that in order to have bearable final gathering times you should set the 'Filter' option of your mentalrayTexture node to 'true' and the 'Filter Size' to '1'. This seems to work great. :thumbsup:

rollmops
12-03-2004, 01:38 PM
Floze,

BTW, is there an explanation about this node?
I mean something more clear than usual. http://localhost:4446/Maya6.0/en_US/RefGuide/node114.html#INDEX458

floze
12-03-2004, 01:46 PM
The one location you mentioned and this (http://localhost:4446/Maya6.0/en_US/RefGuide/node22.html#INDEX47) one. Thats where I got my info from.. havent seen much in the forums as well. Maybe post a request to the lamrug (http://www.lamrug.org/index.html)?

ohiro2
12-09-2004, 10:05 PM
use francesca's ctr_irradiance shader which allows you to control fg based on shader.
and adjust the min max and min radius.and check out the fg ray view.
the parts you want don't want it to look less flickering should not be densed with a lot of rays.
It is not accurate.
Sorry for terrible English.

Hiro

wizard06
01-19-2005, 10:23 PM
so when you have your mib_texture_filter_lookup set up how do you attach it to the texture. OR is it automatically a global thing. info is always appreciated.

floze
01-19-2005, 10:35 PM
The filetexture's location is always in the mentalrayTexture node.
To apply the whole stuff to a shader, just treat the mib_texture_filter_lookup node like one of maya's filetexture nodes (e.g. mmb drag it over your shaders 'color').

Nosiburger
01-23-2005, 12:14 AM
Floze and others.....

Found this thread really useful.
Thanks a bunch.

Cheers.

ajsfuxor
02-09-2005, 06:14 AM
Should eliptical filtering in Maya take ALOT longer to render? I just setup a quick test and the render takes alot longer to render using an eliptical filtering setup

Also, how would connect a this up to a bump map?

floze
02-09-2005, 09:17 AM
Should eliptical filtering in Maya take ALOT longer to render? I just setup a quick test and the render takes alot longer to render using an eliptical filtering setup

Also, how would connect a this up to a bump map?
Are you sure you set the 'Filter' option of your mentalrayTexture to 'true'? You may leave the 'Filter Size' at 1.0 though.

The mib_texture_filter_lookup acts like a usual filetexture with RGB output. You may plug it via a luminance node into a bump2d.

ajsfuxor
02-09-2005, 09:31 PM
Why on earth is there so little information about elliptical filtering? When using high detail textures, it is simply a must. I cant believe more people havent posted more questions on it.

Floze, you are a genius. Are there any downsides to this type of filtering?

Nosiburger
02-09-2005, 09:47 PM
Yeah amazing isn't it.

There must be loads of people out there putting up with flickery Mray sequences.

ajsfuxor
02-09-2005, 09:50 PM
...AND blaming it on final gather!

rollmops
02-10-2005, 08:15 AM
I cant believe more people havent posted more questions on it.
Floze, you are a genius.

TRUE!

Now, I've already asked for a ILLUSTRATED MentalRay documentation in the Alias wishlist.
Does anybody have a contact at MentalImage?

floze
02-10-2005, 11:22 AM
I guess many people blame it on antialiasing settings (beside fg, yeah :) ) and crank it aaall the way up to 1/3 or even 2/4, which is totally unnecessary if you have well filtered textures.
I wonder why standard mipmap and elliptical seems to be the only 'official' texture filtering method mr offers. It is possible to write all kinds of filters for mr (I've seen Gonzalo Garramuno doing something alike in the mrClasses), but I couldnt find a public shader yet..
Maybe they think elliptical filter is the best one around anyway and there's no need for any other... and they'd be somehow right! :D

ajsfuxor
02-10-2005, 11:09 PM
Maya 6.5 now supports Quadratic, Quartic and Gaussian filters on a 2D file texture.

Read it in the whats new PDF

mverta
02-11-2005, 12:00 PM
Well, I went through this remarkably unintuitive node creation process to map a simple texture, and it worked, but I don't understand the way it's mapping. I connected it to a sphere, and rather than follow the uv's, it seems to be planar projecting and stretching, or something similar. If I create a regular Maya file texture node and map the same image onto the sphere, it appears correct. Am I missing something?

_Mike

floze
02-11-2005, 02:54 PM
Well, I went through this remarkably unintuitive node creation process to map a simple texture, and it worked, but I don't understand the way it's mapping. I connected it to a sphere, and rather than follow the uv's, it seems to be planar projecting and stretching, or something similar. If I create a regular Maya file texture node and map the same image onto the sphere, it appears correct. Am I missing something?

_Mike
The mib_texture_vector selects the texture space and optionally applies a transformation into object, world, camera or screen space or applies a standard projection (planar, spherical, cylindrical etc.). Default should be 0 for all.
The mib_texture_remap adds texture vertex transformation, similar to what a 2Dplacement does. Alt_x/y/z and Torus_x/y/z should be off. Texture repetition and offset is controlled by the corresponding input fields, which consist of three parts: 1st is X (or U), 2nd is Y (or V)and the 3rd Z. Min and Max should also be 0.

Both nodes are well documented, I recommend going through it in the manual - it's worth it.

Btw: if you dont plan to alter a texture's placement, you just want to pull it over something, it's enough to plug a mib_texture_vector into the coord of your texture- or filterlookup node.

ietra
02-22-2005, 07:13 PM
Floze- thanks for your insights on this issue.

I'm trying to test out the use of your elipticalFilter phenomenon and it seems to work fine if I render a single frame within Maya; however, if I try to batch render it craps out with these errors:


API 0.0 error 301031: C:/Program Files/Alias/Maya6.0/mentalray/include/ellipticfilter.mi, line 14: while defining phenomenon declaration "ellipticFilter": call to undeclared function "mib_texture_vector"
API 0.0 error 301031: C:/Program Files/Alias/Maya6.0/mentalray/include/ellipticfilter.mi, line 21: while defining phenomenon declaration "ellipticFilter": call to undeclared function "mib_texture_remap"
API 0.0 error 301031: C:/Program Files/Alias/Maya6.0/mentalray/include/ellipticfilter.mi, line 36: while defining phenomenon declaration "ellipticFilter": call to undeclared function "mib_texture_filter_lookup"
API 0.0 error 301032: C:/Program Files/Alias/Maya6.0/mentalray/include/ellipticfilter.mi, line 48: while defining phenomenon declaration "ellipticFilter": undefined shader "ellipticFilter::tex"

Any idea why?

Also, could this technique be somehow used to address the very similar-looking flickering across non-file textured surfaces when using final gather?

floze
02-22-2005, 07:26 PM
Hmm.. try to add this line to the topmost of your ellipticfilter.mi:

$include "C:\Program Files\Alias\Maya6.0\mentalray\include\base.mi"

...where the path of course points to your personal maya/mentalray installation. This will probably spit out a warning in the output window but it should work.

And I guess no, it wont help you much with finalgather. It is only able to handle textures. But finalgather has been greatly improved in maya 6.5 (or mentalray 3.4) also in terms of flickering/blotchiness.

lricho
03-01-2005, 05:37 AM
Hey Floze,

I'm having trouble actually opening up the zip file you posted. Wont let me open it with winzip.

Cheers,
Luke.

floze
03-01-2005, 06:00 AM
Forget about winzip, get winrar:

http://www.rarlab.com/

It's free and it works.

lricho
03-01-2005, 10:50 AM
nope, still dun't want to uncompress for me. I've used winrar, winzip, downloaded the file again, just in case it screwed up on download, but none of them worked.

mverta
04-28-2005, 01:30 PM
Hey Floze,

With a few of my maps, I've done some Alpha level or color balance adjustment as part of the Maya shader options; those options don't exist when plugging in an mr_texture_filter_lookup... which mr utility can I plug in to get that control back. I've got a ship with about 100 textures on it that I have to go back and completely re-assign... ugh.

_Mike

floze
04-28-2005, 01:55 PM
You can run the mib_texture_filter_lookup's output through any desired operation. It's output is simply RGB.
You could, for example, plug it's output into a multiply/divide node and multiply the textures color values - this would equal to 'Color Gain'. To do a 'Color Offset' you could use a setRange node. You really can use any operation maya offers (gamma correct, contrast, clamp, remap color, etc.pp.) - the only disadvantage is the lack of a more convenient implementation within the texture-node itself.

mverta
04-29-2005, 12:26 AM
Floze -

There's an ECCMAX and MAXMINOR control for the elliptical filtering, and a FILTER SIZE option. Any thoughts on using those? The textures are looking a bit soft to me...

_Mike

floze
04-29-2005, 11:04 AM
Eccmax and maxminor should work well with the default settings. The main amount of filtering is controlled by the disc_r attribute. The higher, the smoother (more antialias) - the lower, the crispier (more aliasing). However the filtering method is not capable of blurring the texture ad hoc. 'Blurring' should take place in areas which point away from the camera - where many many texels (pixels on texture images) need to be 'crunched' down and be interpolated.

If you look perpendicular (flat from top) on a textured plane, no texel needs to be interpolated, because they all should be visible. If you rotate this plane toward the camera until only a very thin visible line of it remains, almost every texel needs to be interpolated somehow, because the renderer has to decide which texels to display as actual rendered pixels on the screen. This is where the elliptical filter kicks in. It decides (very well!) which texels to take and how to interpolate them.

I hope you understand a bit now how the filter works - it actually does (or should) not blur anything. If the textures look very soft in areas near the camera, turn off 'bilinear'. Bilinear filtering blurs texels that are 'bigger' than a screen pixel. If you look very close on a textured surface, the texels might become very large, depending on the resolution of the texture - bilinear interpolates those texel values.

Last but not least: Filter Size. This actually has nothing to do with the elliptical filter specifically. The 'Filter' attribute, if set to on, requests a mipmap (texture-pyramid) generation of the texture. Mib_texture_lookup (nb: not mib_texture_filter_lookup) automatically requests those. This mipmaps usually are smaller versions of the original texture, getting smaller with every mipmap level - like a pyramid. This mipmaps can be used to interpolate the texels if things like in the example above take place. The 'Filter Size' simply controls the amount of compression of these mipmaps.

Well, mib_texture_filter_lookup takes care of the pyramid a bit differently than a usual mipmap filter method does. However, if mib_texture_filter_lookup is being used in conjunction with finalgathering, it seems to be crucial to request those mipmaps. Otherwise the finalgathering process could take forever. Unfortunately I havent found any resources on this specific topic, so I dont know exactly why this is happening. But obviously finalgathering benefits eminently of mipmaps.

I suggest experimenting with the .map format mentalray provides. This format is able to hold those mipmaps 'prebaked' in the texture file, which is speeding up scene preprocessing. Beside that, the .map formatted textures are not being loaded into memory, they are rather being read directly from disc - this can save you huge amounts of RAM. By using imf_copy (found in your maya installation's bin directory) you can convert images via the commandline:

imf_copy -p myTexture.tga myTexture.map

This outputs mytexture.map, containing a texture-pyramid because we used the '-p' flag. If you use .map files with mipmaps, you dont need to have the 'Filter' option turned on to take advantage of the pyramid.

mverta
04-29-2005, 07:26 PM
So Floze,

Are you suggesting turning off FILTER in non-FG situations to avoid having the texture mip-mapped? In other words, is the fact that I have FILTER checked on what may be causing the softness?

Thanks for your explanation... I've used .map format for some time, otherwise I'd never get this stuff to render. Though I understand there are internal controls for the .map format that I have no idea how to manipulate appropriately - I just use the default commandline settings.

_Mike

floze
04-29-2005, 08:25 PM
So Floze,

Are you suggesting turning off FILTER in non-FG situations to avoid having the texture mip-mapped? In other words, is the fact that I have FILTER checked on what may be causing the softness?
I strongly suggest to turn it always on, it wont harm neither quality nor rendering time. The only thing is it will produce a slightly longer preprocessing time when opening the texture during rendering. To come around this simply use the -p flag when converting your textures to .map.
If your texture seems to be too soft, reduce the disc_r, start off from a low value like 0.01; maybe post a pic of your texture, showing it with and without filtering?

FrizzleFry0
05-16-2005, 04:11 PM
floze - Thanks for all the nice info in this thread. I've been trying to solve flickering issues by adjusting FG min/max radius and haven't had too much luck yet. Is this something that can potentially work with FG also? From what I can decipher in this thread, FG should be using a mip-map filter style in conjunction with the MR nodes. Someone else mentioned that in 6.5, 2d filtering works with quadratic also, which is what mine currently are all set to. I'd really like to look more into these MR nodes so my demo reel doesn't look like a confetti mess of flickering ;)

floze
05-16-2005, 05:27 PM
floze - Thanks for all the nice info in this thread. I've been trying to solve flickering issues by adjusting FG min/max radius and haven't had too much luck yet. Is this something that can potentially work with FG also? From what I can decipher in this thread, FG should be using a mip-map filter style in conjunction with the MR nodes. Someone else mentioned that in 6.5, 2d filtering works with quadratic also, which is what mine currently are all set to. I'd really like to look more into these MR nodes so my demo reel doesn't look like a confetti mess of flickering ;)
Well, fg flicker and texture flicker are actually two different things. To reduce classical fg noise I suggest going through the great TRIX R 4 KIDS paper:

http://www.jupiter-jazz.com/wordpress/wp-content/data/tr4kv2/html/chapter1-FG.html

To answer your question regarding mipmap filter + fg: I only encountered this when using the elliptical filter. Actually it's not speeding up, it's vice versa: the elliptical filter slows down fg when no texture pyramids are being used.
And yes, the standard maya texture filters work with mr now. Quadratic is quite nice and fast, though you cant turn off bilinear filtering. Also it's overall way blurrier, but I think it's a very good alternative to the elliptical filter.

FrizzleFry0
05-16-2005, 06:18 PM
Ah ok thanks for the clarification. I'd like to try and get the MR structure setup anyway just for future reference. Everything seems to be working great so far and I noticed that it sharpens some details over the standard Maya filing (probably due to different filtering). Since I'm trying to convert the whole MR shader to MR nodes, I need to figure out a way to get the bump node to work. The Maya 2d bump node works fine when plugged in, but I can't get the MR bump nodes to work. Have you had any luck getting that to work? The bump is trying to be applied in a SSS shader, if that makes any difference. Thanks in advance :)

floze
05-16-2005, 06:24 PM
Have you had any luck getting that to work? The bump is trying to be applied in a SSS shader, if that makes any difference. Thanks in advance :)
Yes I had, and yesterday I was thinking about opening a thread called 'mentalray bump exploited'.. I'll give that a go as soon as possible.

FrizzleFry0
05-16-2005, 06:31 PM
Yes I had, and yesterday I was thinking about opening a thread called 'mentalray bump exploited'.. I'll give that a go as soon as possible.

Great! I really appreciate the help man.

JasonA
05-23-2005, 03:03 PM
wow very cool thread indeed :)

Floze, couple of quick questions about the elliptical filtering. I applied the network you showed on the first page to a shader, but it didn't seem to have much of an effect. in the mentalray texturenode I have filter turned on and set to 1. Were the settings inside the mib_texture_filter_lookup left at the default settings?

Brick-top
05-24-2005, 02:11 PM
Hi Floze thanks a lot for all this info :) could you look at this little animation I created using (hopefully correctly) elliptical filtering to see if indeed I am using it the right way? I had never tried to render an animation with FG and I have seen all these threads about "flickering" so I did one but I don't know if my animation is using elliptical filtering or not, but since I see some dots going from one place to another I guess something must be wrong. Could you (or someone) look at the animation and tell me if there is any of the "flickering" all of you are talking about?

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=241945

Thanks a lot :) and sorry if my english sounds weird.

floze
05-24-2005, 07:53 PM
Hi Floze thanks a lot for all this info :) could you look at this little animation I created using (hopefully correctly) elliptical filtering to see if indeed I am using it the right way? I had never tried to render an animation with FG and I have seen all these threads about "flickering" so I did one but I don't know if my animation is using elliptical filtering or not, but since I see some dots going from one place to another I guess something must be wrong. Could you (or someone) look at the animation and tell me if there is any of the "flickering" all of you are talking about?

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=241945

Thanks a lot :) and sorry if my english sounds weird.
I couldnt play your animation very well, but it seems like youre using glossy (at least bumped) reflections. This definitely causes artifacts unless you crank up your samples to very high values.

JasonA, could you maybe post a picture of whats going on, and maybe a picture of your shading network.

Brick-top
05-25-2005, 08:48 AM
Thanks a lot for you reply Floze :)

Another thing I would like to ask is how do I use elliptical filtering with a procedural texture from maya? I tried to do it yesterday but I couldn't make it work, all I got was a completely black render...

Any ideias?

liquid_tension
06-16-2005, 07:08 PM
Hi Floze and everybody, I tried using the elliptical filter with a nurbs surface, Im doing a terrain and it has a planar projection, but for some reason when I do a render it does some really weird blurring or smudging on my texture, what I did was to conect the mib texture filter out value to the image projection of my shader... is that the way I should do it?

floze
06-16-2005, 11:19 PM
Hi Floze and everybody, I tried using the elliptical filter with a nurbs surface, Im doing a terrain and it has a planar projection, but for some reason when I do a render it does some really weird blurring or smudging on my texture, what I did was to conect the mib texture filter out value to the image projection of my shader... is that the way I should do it?
Hm. Image projection? If you're using the projection shader, it might interfer with the elliptical filter.

I suggest from this point on to use the native maya filtering in the usual filenodes (e.g. quadratic seems to be quite effective), which works really fine now in maya 6.5. The elliptical filter is simply too basic and not flexible enough compared to that.
If the quadratic filter is too blurry by default, you may tweak down the 'Filter' value under the Effects rollout in your filenode.

liquid_tension
06-21-2005, 05:04 PM
Hey Floze thanks for your reply, the thing is a did a render test with Quadratic and even with Mimp map and my texture is still flickering because it has too much detail, its a 9000x9000 texture because I have to do close ups to that terrain, and I have to use a planar projection because the surface is cut in patches because the lake was made as a trim, so aparently when I apply my texture to a Nurbs plane with a planar projection and connect the mib texture filter to the projection instead of the maya file node, everything renders ok, but when I do it to my surface with is not plane then I get this weird blur on some areas, any idea if I have to change any values on the mib filter lookup???? or anywhere???

liquid_tension
06-21-2005, 05:16 PM
and I did a test with a simple planar, and the same texture and it looked perfect, but after i detached the panar and did the same render I noticed that problem came up again, any idea why the filter doesnt works well for many surfaces?

liquid_tension
06-28-2005, 09:45 PM
here is my network

Splin
06-30-2005, 09:15 PM
Hey there folks!

Macj, getting back to your original question. If you are concerned about flickering in FG and if you are using textures also. This is very bad idea. Due color variation what you are sending to FG, it just doesnt have enuf rays and that causes flickering. Of course you could bump up FG rays to some crazy number but that aint solution often when time is breathing to your neck.
That is what I do in situations when for some reason I dont want to render out FG contribution in separate pass:
I do separate textures for FG rays(fast shader what can perform it in 3d app or just in 2d app), very blurred to get that suddle color bleeding. I also make invisible for FG speculars etc what are very expensive to FG. Often times I just end piping into FG constant colors or basic lambertian/oren nayar models what dont have reflections, concidering time & quality ratio it works out very well.
Grab a Ray_type shader from here http://www.impresszio.hu/szabolcs/
Into normal eye rays just pipe your normal shader tree and into FG rays your modified tree.
Just dont ask Maya specific questions, I am a XSI'er, I was looking if this shader also exists in maya and bmcaff pointed me to it. I know it works in XSI, in theory it should work exactly also in maya.
Good luck.

Droolz
07-01-2005, 03:34 PM
Thanks Splin for piping up about this shader workflow - it's frikkin brilliant. I've used to get my Fg anim down from about 10mins a frame to 2! now got to sort out the pesky flicker....

Would I be right in assuming that fg rebuild off is not really the correct option for scenes with moving parts?

If this is the case fg rebuild on seems to make flicker a hell of a lot worse, I'm on 1min 5 max (radii in pixel size), 200 rays - flicker is pretty bad. Tried reducing the max radius to 3 fg rays to 400, still extremly irratiating flicker...

Just testing a new setup with rebuild to off, see what happens.... I love the way that I need to wait a day to seee if a tweak has worked :S.

Throbberwocky
07-04-2005, 03:29 PM
If this is the case fg rebuild on seems to make flicker a hell of a lot worse, I'm on 1min 5 max (radii in pixel size), 200 rays - flicker is pretty bad. Tried reducing the max radius to 3 fg rays to 400, still extremly irratiating flicker...

How about trying to use some higher min max values. The higher the radius values, the smoother the FG solution and the less potential for flickery (I guess). You will loose the crisp FG shadows in corners and creases, but you could fake them with an ambient occlusion pass.

Hm, just my two cents ... maybe it works ...

Droolz
07-04-2005, 03:36 PM
Thanks Gumbo, I've party solved my problem by using turtle insted :S. Not ideal but hey. Also for future reference the view radii by pixel size is broken in maya 6.5, ie. it dosen't do anything, so that sent me barking up the wrong tree for about a decade.

SirRender
04-04-2006, 06:21 PM
Using Maya 7.0.1

Does anyone know if you can use the mib_texture_filter_lookup node on a displacement map?

I'm using a 16bit displacement map fron ZBrush on my model. Everything looks great until I render out a camera move. I start to get flickering in the higher noise/contrast areas of the displacemet map.

Is this something that the mib_texture_filter_lookup can help alleviate?

Is so, can some kind soul please show me how to hook it up to my MR shading network? (please keep in mind that this is all new to me, so more info is better)

Thank you so much!

CGTalk Moderation
04-04-2006, 06:21 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.