PDA

View Full Version : Texture problems when moving bones !!!


AlexGT
03-04-2004, 04:52 PM
Hi everyone !
I have a big problem here !
I did a character from A to Z ( Modeling to rigged to textures)
So he is done and when i'm rendering a still image on modeling
position, everything is ok, but...

when i move my bones to give him a nice action position,
Some textures ( arms, face, torso ) have moved stangely on
the modeling ( like pattern style ).
It's very hugly, since i put at least 1 month in making just the textures, i'm very frustrated.

Specs:

*I made "quick select sets"
*I made almost entirely "image files" for different textures (IFF)
*I selected "Automatic UV" for many "quick select sets" and some
cylindrical
*I have skinned my character before puting UV's
(UV was the last operation)

*** And finaly, i dont know if it's the cause, but i have made 1
or 2 "Quick select sets" errors that i did'nt use (because of
other faces that i did'nt want to include in my selection)
For exemple: In my "Quick select sets", i have 2 "Face"
("Face" and "Face1") I did'nt use the "Face" to texture my
face, i use "Face1"

So how can i fix this shit ? Is there a way to delete some
"Quick select sets", or another way to fix the texture problems
that are moving on the modeling when moving arms or head
or legs ?

Thank you for your cooperation !
BobG

StickFigure
03-05-2004, 02:36 AM
Your'e having problems cause you textured after you skinned. Nothing wrong with that, but you will have to run fixWeight on the character. You can get the script of highend3d.com, just do a search for it in the mel scripts section. Hope it works.

AlexGT
03-05-2004, 04:03 PM
Thank you Stick !

I will try it and will give you news
Bob G

AlexGT
03-05-2004, 10:15 PM
Man ! I tryed and it didn't work

But i'm not sure how to apply a Melscript,
i downloaded "Fixweight.mel",
i put it in: C:\Program...\Alias..\Maya...\scripts\startup,
and then, i opened my character project,
selected my modeling parent and opened the script editor,
and did "open script" in the menu, and browse to select
"Fixweight.mel" and finaly did "execute" in the menu either
and when i render a still, it didn't fix my problem.

And finaly i tryed exactly the same thing, but instead of selecting
the modeling parent, i selected the pelvis (main parent bone)
and it didn't fix my problem either

So i'm not sure if i was doing this the right way but i never learnd
how to apply a melscript and didn,t know how to apply this one.
*there where no description included in the downloaded melscript.

Anyway thanks again, and if you have the solution, i will love to ear it !
Chow ming ! Bob G.

StickFigure
03-06-2004, 01:41 AM
Ok, keep the mel script in the scripts folder. In Maya, select the object's that are having problems (not the skeleton) and run the script with them selected. To run the script, just type fixWeight; in the command line on the bottom left and press enter.

AlexGT
03-12-2004, 11:49 PM
Ok, i hev try to put the scrip in the folder "scripts"
and selected my object and typed "fixWeight;"
and made a still image, but it didn't work.
The textures is still ****ed up on the modeling (arms,face,etc...)

My once teacher told me it was maybe due to maybe 2 things:

First of all, he said that my textures where applyed in projection and not in normal, and told me to change it to normal, but it
was done in normal, from day one, so i dont need to use this
solution.

Secondly, he told me that my UV are all ****ed up, and to fix this,
he told me to select the object and go in "Modeling" module,
and go in "Edit Polygones" and "Texture" and apply a unrap
mode like "planar","spherical","cylindrical" or "automatique"
and to go back again in the UV Texture editor to replace the UV's
correctly. So if i do this i'll need to restart all my textures in photoshop or what ?

Man ...... I realy dont know what to do anymore !
After puttting 2 weeks for creating the UV and the textures now
i'm stick with this shit !
Anyway it's a realy good dilemma and for those who never eard
of this problem before, we will all sleep less dumb when we'll
know the answer !
Thanks again!
Please someone, find the answer !
Bob G

bennyboy2
03-14-2004, 03:19 AM
Why don't you post some screenshots of your mesh, your uv map and a couple renders so we can see what's going wrong?

nottoshabi
03-15-2004, 08:33 PM
First off all, did you use nurbs, subd's or polys? And if you did use poly's or subd's did you make sure the "Insert Before Deformers" attribute was enabled under your maping options box? If you use nurbs its a bit more trickey, what you have to do is create something called a "Texture Refernce Object" wich is under the Rendering menu set, Texturing "Create Texture Reference Object". Usually this is done before rigging to prevent problems like the ones you are having, however this should work. Let me know what happends.

AlexGT
03-17-2004, 05:30 AM
Ok !...
Hey StickFigure !
I tryed your script (fixWeight) one more time but,
it was very strange, first, i tryed to aplly it on
my main parent objet (pelvis, a KILT to be more precise
( scottish character))
and it went terribly wrong, all kinds of spike was growing on all my character when i moved the bones, then i tryed to apply it on
one children objetc ( Padded shoulder ) and it worked for
this object, then i tryed on another children object ( face (head) ),
but this time another head has been duplicated
in the Hypergraph, so i really don't understand now, will i need to unlink everything, to aplly the script on each object and
re-establish the link after this. But if i do this my Skinning will be
****ed up ?

And finaly about the script, here's what has appeared
(When i had selected my main parent (pelvis kilt)) in the
script editor :
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
fixWeight;
skinCluster 1
// Warning : Can't perform polyAutoProj4 on disabled selection
// Warning : Can't perform polyAuto...

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
trough polyAutoProj328

Ok ! ...
and for nottoshabi,

i really thank you for trying to help me but...
i tryed also your thing called " CREATE TEXTURE REFERENCE OBJECT " in the texturing menu of the rendering module and
it didn't work ! But i'm not sure if i did it the right way,
here's what i did :
I selected my main parent object (Pelvis(kilt)) and
did the "CREATE TEXTURE..." and in the script editor,
this has appeared:

Warning: Removing invalid character from name.

So when i move my arms it's the same old bug
that's getting me nuts each day and still going.
Perhaps there's a right way to do this.
And i dont get what you said about INSERT BEFORE DEFORMERS
under my maping options box ?

I'm wondering if my teacher had skils when he learned us 3D,
now that i see it ? So many important things that i think i missed !

Anyway ! I have send still images for bennyboy2 and others

And to be more precise, here's the brief history of my character:

1- i modelled it in poly ( many separated object )
2- i deleted the history of the modeling
3- i have made the linking ( Parent / Children )
4- i have created the bones with IK handles for arms and legs
and the ski for the foots
5- i have created the eyes and teeth that i linked to (head) bone
6- i have skinned my objects to my bones
7- i applyed the UV to the objects, by 2 ways:
i used some entirely selected object to apply the UV,
and i used QUICK SELECT SETS of different selections of the
same object to apply different UV to this object.
8- And finaly i made my textures in Photoshop

** I made 3 duplicates of my head, on another layer, to apply
a blend shape, but i did not use it.

So that's it !
WHAT CAN I DO TO SOLVE THIS MOTHER $%*@%^ PROBLEM ?????

THANKS AGAIN TO EVERYBODY !
BOB !

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 03:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.