PDA

View Full Version : double knee leg setup?

Morganism
03-04-2004, 10:10 AM
I'm looking for a way to set up a hind leg that has more than one joint between the hip and the ankle (like a cat or a frog, or most quadropeds). I'd like to have IK that solves from the foot so that it's easy to pose. That's simple enough, but the problem of course is that then you lose control of the two joints in between. I'd still like to be able to adjust those joints (Which one gets more rotation than the other). I can't figure out how to set something like that up.

The setup I would fall back on would be controlling it like you would a reverse foot roll, but it would be cooler if both joints were affected by the IK.

Does that make sense at all? I apologise for whatever terms I'm screwing up. My english is fine, but I'm still learning Mayan.

john_homer
03-04-2004, 07:55 PM
Originally posted by Morganism
I'd still like to be able to adjust those joints (Which one gets more rotation than the other).

check out "stiffness" in the attribute editor (for each joint)
be sure to check out the help on this one... I think there is something odd, like you have to have all the joints in the chain set to at least 1 for it to take effect... havent looked at it in ages... maybe it doesn't even work... like the "damping"...

.j

Morganism
03-06-2004, 04:43 AM
Thanks for the suggestion. I played around with joint stiffness, but it's not quite what I'm looking for. That only really seems to come into affect as you're moving the IK handle. You can't really use it to adjust the rotation of joints in a chain.

any other thoughts or ideas? Someone must have set up something like this before.....

Morganism
04-11-2004, 09:25 AM