PDA

View Full Version : I know this question probably has been asked before....

GuardianX
03-03-2004, 12:19 AM
I am new to CG Talks and am having a wonderful time. I'm looking into getting into modeling and i have a question.

I see all these awsome models and the people making awsome models and they show their concept(paintings, sprites, comics, etc.) and i was wondering if this is all they used? cause i tried to get into modeling before and every one recomended image planes. is that a must or should a reference image work? and what are some tutorials that could help me out in getting into game modeling?

Well i appriciate any help you huys give me and i hope to learn alot. thnaks in advance.

three
03-03-2004, 05:11 PM
Hi Guardian, welcome.

Most of us are using reference images I guess. A front and a side-view of the character you're going to do.
One plane set up in the Front viewport and one in the Side viewport (right, left).

When you're really sure about how the anatomy of a certain creature works, then you might not need those reference pictures. Only one concept of the character and you'll be able to work from that. Using your experience.

But remember, reference pictures isn't cheating. Most of the experienced modelers out there use "refs". It's a great way of keeping focus on the model.

Good luck out there.

(Um, and dude, your post might be in the wrong thread.)

GuardianX
03-03-2004, 08:09 PM