PDA

View Full Version : corners/edges/hard look


KINGOFPAIN
03-02-2004, 07:48 PM
ok... im working on a car(first one)and when i render in poly mode to check the look it seems ok.. corners and edges... but as soon as i turn the hyper nurb on and render... all the corners ans edges turn roundish...some parts i do want smooth and round while other parts i want sharp... how can i go aboutdoing this?

jabbermacy
03-02-2004, 08:46 PM
select edges/points you want sharp, hold the period key, drag mouse, rinse and repeat.....

KINGOFPAIN
03-02-2004, 08:53 PM
:bowdown: :thumbsup: thank you very much!!!

fretshredder
03-02-2004, 09:06 PM
depending on your object's shape you could also cut the geometry near the edges to sharpen them up. Just another idea ;)


-gz-

KINGOFPAIN
03-02-2004, 10:49 PM
Originally posted by fretshredder
depending on your object's shape you could also cut the geometry near the edges to sharpen them up. Just another idea ;)


-gz-

thanks... i need all the tips i can get.:thumbsup:

RusMan
03-02-2004, 11:41 PM
http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=125771
At the bottom, byt thirdEye and me.

flingster
03-03-2004, 12:38 AM
you can sometimes maybe not in this case...adjust the phong/smoothing tag...to say 20 instead of 80 its usually set to.
:shrug:

crash_tx
03-03-2004, 01:23 AM
Originally posted by flingster
you can sometimes maybe not in this case...adjust the phong/smoothing tag...to say 20 instead of 80 its usually set to.
:shrug:

I was wondering if you can apply a separate phong shading tag to a polygon selection set within the same object. Oh hell, I could probably find out in less time than it takes the program to load... let ya know what I come up with.

Laters.

flingster
03-03-2004, 01:28 AM
Originally posted by crash_tx
I was wondering if you can apply a separate phong shading tag to a polygon selection set within the same object. Oh hell, I could probably find out in less time than it takes the program to load... let ya know what I come up with.

Laters.

nope...not that i know of...even on disconnect..
i thought it was only one phong per object.
would need to check quick in manual though.:shrug:

KINGOFPAIN
03-03-2004, 01:54 AM
Originally posted by RusMan
http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=125771
At the bottom, byt thirdEye and me. :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 02:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.