PDA

View Full Version : Scene - Tragic Landing

Plays_4_Pants
03-02-2004, 06:22 AM
Hello everyone. Here's a couple of pics called "Tragic Landing." It takes place in Baghdad where America decided to land a Cathedral over a wrecked muslim graveyard via helicopters and chains. But as you can see, as it began to land some chains broke and the cathedral tipped creating a heck of a mess. This is a metaphor to my thoughts on how America imposes itself and its culture with seemingly good intentions, yet never plan things out.

This was made with Maya and mental ray with photoshop touch ups. I don't really care for the camera angle so I'll probably re-post this with a new dynamic perspective sometime this week and some close ups too...if you want me to.

Please critique and rate...I love suggestions on how I can get better. Heck that's why i'm here. :cool:
Oh, and I'm a student at BGSU...graduating soon so this will be my demo reel stuff. So it's double important for me.

Night Time

http://digitalarts.bgsu.edu/portfolios/tgreco/Tragic_Landing_Night1.jpg

Dawn (to the extreme)

http://digitalarts.bgsu.edu/portfolios/tgreco/Tragic_Landing_Dawn1.jpg

Garma
03-02-2004, 07:15 AM
nice work. I prefer the second. However, your explanation should be visible in the picture. It's not really clear from the picture that it's a cathedral though, and also not that this is baghdad. If you want to get a message through you need people to get it immediately on viewing.

nice work overall :)

rexfang
03-02-2004, 07:54 AM
good job!

hmm..and i agree with Garma . Oh and I feel its kind of "flat" looking forn this view...maybe add an depth pass and give it more depth and also the foreground is kind of empty.

Faithbleed
03-02-2004, 08:42 AM