PDA

View Full Version : Architectural Screen


mindeye
02-27-2004, 03:33 PM
Hello,

This might be a really lame question, but I am trying to create an object that looks like a screen. Does anyone know any tricks on how to do this? I just thought of creating a plane and making it partially transparent and mapping a jpg of a screen to it. Any better way of doing this??

Much Thanks,
Roger

sjaak
02-28-2004, 11:50 PM
just a tip... if the screen is turned on, use scanlines (those horizontal lines tv's and monitors screens show)

and maybe some glow...?

btw i'm no texture hero, just my 2 cents

emh114
03-06-2004, 01:47 PM
I had a deformer project due for school, I modeled out a T.V. and made it dance while the movie played on the screen. I did this by mapping a Quicktime movie on to it, and it looked fine. I overlayed the scanelines in arfter efects for the screen map, and animated the visabilty in maya ( for the T.V turning on and off).
If your project is a still then just mapping a Targa or a jpeg will work just fine.......:bounce:

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 01:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.