PDA

View Full Version : is there a curve utility!?!


MrFace
02-25-2004, 06:38 AM
can anyone tell me where to find the curve utility? i've included a link to an image from a nice car modelling/mapping tutorial.

http://www.3dtotal.com/team/tutorials/minishading/img/10.jpg

how it looks in the graph editor:

http://www.3dtotal.com/team/tutorials/minishading/img/11.jpg

it's the second node over from the left. i know you can get a similar effect using ramps, but the nice thing about using a curve is you can get values higher than one.

thanks!

gmask
02-25-2004, 06:41 AM
Originally posted by MrFace

it's the second node over from the left. i know you can get a similar effect using ramps, but the nice thing about using a curve is you can get values higher than one.


You can type in values higher than 1 for luminace in the color picker and therefore go as high as you need with a ramp

MrFace
02-25-2004, 07:15 AM
well, ok... cool. but if it's possible i'd still like the flexibility of having a curve tool. i tend to think in splines, i guess :p .

so if anyone knows if this tool still exists/where to find it, please tell me! thanks again.

HotBox
02-25-2004, 07:26 AM
that curve node is a keyframe node not a material utility and judging by the graph editor it looks as though there is some kind of setDrivenKey between the sampler info node and the blinn shader

MrFace
02-25-2004, 07:29 AM
awesome! thanks for the info.:bounce: i'm excited to try that method out.

MDurante
02-25-2004, 05:13 PM
http://www.highend3d.com/boards/showflat.php?Cat=&Board=mayarender&Number=168215&page=&view=&sb=&o=&vc=1

- Matthew Durante

MrFace
02-25-2004, 07:03 PM
i've found that setting driven keys is easier for me. thanks, though.

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 02:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.