PDA

View Full Version : First rig setup

Pickman
02-24-2004, 01:09 PM
Hi there, I'm new to Maya, coming from a Max background, I'm currently building my first rig, learning as much as possible from the Maya doc. Here are my two problems: I started using some expressions but I was told expressions were slow to evaluate, and I want good feedback from my rig. Is there a way to speed up the process or a workaround ?? Secondly I'm copying joints and bones from left to right and encoutered extra effectors that should not be there afterwards, I might do something incorrect...is there a correct way to prevent that, or a script that would clean it ??
Thx a lot.

jHromika
02-24-2004, 07:00 PM
Hey there Pickman,

While expressions will slow you down, it's really only if you're using A LOT, or you're running maya on an ancient machine ;) I tend to avoid using them in single rigs when I can, but if I can make it even a little bit easier for the animator, I'll tweak it with an expression.

An example of this...

Say you've set up a toe pivot so you can tap your toe. You have an attribute on a foot controller called toeTap and you want this to control toeTapRIG.rotateX

To avoid an expression, choose Window > General Editors > Connection Editor

Here you'll see two sides, by default your driver (master, parent) will be on the left, while the driven (slave, child) will be on the right. Select the foot controller and click "Reload Left", then select toeTapRIG and click "Reload Right." Scroll down on the left side to find toeTap and select it. Then scroll down the right side to find rotateX (will need to open up Rotate) and select that.

Now by adjusting toeTap you're rotating toeTapRIG in X.

This is one of those times I'd usually write an expression though. If you need to "tap" from -60 to 80, that's a bit of middle-mouse dragging unless you actually type the number into the channel box.

So I'll write an expression to tweak that a bit.

toeTapRIG.rotateX = footControl.toeTap * 5;