PDA

View Full Version : Rendering resources


morgn
02-23-2004, 10:57 AM
Hi,
i was just wondering what hardware resources a render takes up.
is it purely processing power or a bit of that and memory, or is the graphics card used to calculate?

im looking to add to my slow configuration, but at the moment, my computer config isnt important to the discussion

cheers,
morgn.

iC4
02-23-2004, 12:41 PM
cpu and ram.

to increase performance you need more cpu power (if you have enough ram), if you don't have enough ram the best cpu won't help you.

GregHess
02-23-2004, 01:41 PM
Ram doesn't increase rendering performance...it just maintains the performance you have.

If you run out of physical ram while rendering, the system has to go to virtual memory, or the harddrive.

The average transfer rate of a 7200 rpm IDE hd, is around 45 megs/sec sustained. With burst transfer, it can get upwards to around 55-60 megs/sec.

By comparison, even lowly PC133 SDRAM can transfer over a gig/sec.

Obviously switching from ram to hd's has a MASSIVE performance penalty.

CGTalk Moderation
01-17-2006, 11:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.