PDA

View Full Version : >>Where did you go to school??

SecretAgent
02-12-2004, 09:06 PM
Hi guys, I thought I would start a thread to see if everyone could share a little of their background w/us here? I'm cursious as to what most peoples background are that are working in the game industry or trying to get in (like myself).

--I am 26yrs old, and have 2 degrees, a BFA in Illustration (KCAD, Grand Rapids, MI) and an Associate in Computer Animation (Full Sail, Orlando,FL).

--I have a couple years experience doing freelance Illustration and design and worked as an eCard designer/animator for Bluemountain.com for a little over a year....

--I am ultimately looking to get into the video game industry and, have been for about a year now. (still *crossing* my fingers, heh)

--So far my educational experiences, I really value and am glad to have. Both schools have had their ups and downs but, ultimately I felt that you really get out what you put in - and I have a feeling most schools are the same way (am I wrong?). I met a lot of great mentors and friends, most of whom I still talk with. I did learn a lot at both schools but, not much in the way of how the industries work (as in video games, or film/Illustration) - mostly just technical training and traditional art skills. The career placement programs at both schools are pretty lame - Full Sail in particular was dissappointing ( I expected that though ). I didn't expect to be handed a job upon graduation only, more guidance on my demo reel and resume/cover letter. And I really thought a school like FS would have lots of great connections in both the video game and film industries, they don't.

Anyways, I would love to hear more of you guys share what your backgrounds are like up to this point. How many of you are working at game companies, and what were you backgrounds previous to that? How were the schools you went to, good/bad? Or whatever else you'd like to say.

JaMo
02-12-2004, 09:22 PM